Christmas Quilted Pastry

More Quilted Pastry! My son loves these. Filling: organic heavy cream, arrowroot powder, ground walnuts, anise, cinnamon, turbinado sugar, organic cherries. A little pre-Christmas spice to get us in the holiday mood. For a holiday we don't celebrate!

For the original Quilted Pastry post, click here.  For the laminated pie dough recipe used in this cookie, click here.

I have been buying produce from the discount carts at Ward's lately. You can tell I am in Florida because everything is pre-packaged. What is up with that, I have no idea. But it occurs at epidemic proportions. Anyway, these organic cherries were massively reduced. They weren't firm for eating but they weren't squishy rotten either. Just a little imperfect here and there. No matter. Baked fruit is forgiving. Cherries, thank you for accepting my apology.

I had leftover pie dough from when I made the pumpkin pie for The Client*. Organic whole wheat pastry flour and organic butter pretty much sum up the ingredients here. For my own family, I rolled it out using organic white spelt.

*By the way, this blog has been graced by The Client’s own remarks! He loved the pie. Thought you should know.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Christmas Quilted Pastry

  1. Lemonpie

    Now these do look like poptarts!

Leave a Reply

