Vegan Cranberry Shortbread Bars : Recipe

Thanksgiving Dessert : Cranberry Shortbread Bars

I was so enchanted by yesterday’s post on The Kitchn for Cranberry Curd Bars that I *had to* attempt a veganized version. Check out that post and just try to tell me those pictures are not magical. Makes me want to dance The Nutcracker or something. Great dessert for Thanksgiving, even better for Christmas.

The challenge though would be the 8 eggs in the recipe. When you get into numbers like that, you just have to know that what you come up with is going to be a variation on a theme and not an exact replica.

*I used too much shortbread, so I am halving my recipe here, which is coincidentally super similar to The Kitchn recipe.

*I didn’t do the jelly technique for the cranberry like the original recipe. Too time consuming for an 8 month pregnant mom of 2 and to be honest, I could use the fiber.

*Have you seen the price of walnuts lately? Ridiculous. Used to be one of the cheaper nuts, now it is way high. I don’t know if this is a seasonal hike or what, but I used almonds and my shortbread is no worse for the crunch.

*Coconut oil. I would have used Earth Balance Buttery Sticks but I only buy it for specific projects and I did that this weekend and now it is all gone. This is not the first time I’ve used coconut oil for vegan baking (cookies and pie crusts) and it works just fine in my opinion. And, I think if you buy it in larger quantities, it is most likely cheaper than the Buttery Sticks. But it doesn’t taste buttery, so your call.

*I don’t refrigerate the crust before baking. What’s that about anyway?

Okay. On to the specifics.

9 x 13 baking pan (I love parchment paper but didn’t use any with this recipe)
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

1 c flour
1 c ground nuts (walnuts, almonds, pecans, etc.)
1/2 c coconut oil
1 tspn lemon juice
1/2 tspn salt

Combine in food processor (make sure nuts ground first). Press into baking pan and bake for 20-25 minutes.

While the crust is in the oven, make your cranberry topping, which will not be like curd.

3 cups fresh cranberries, minced in food processor
1 cup sugar
2 TBSP lemon juice
pinch salt
1/4 tspn cardamon
1/2 tspn cinnamon
1 can (13.6 oz) coconut milk
1/4 cup arrowroot powder (or cornstarch)

Combine ingredients in a wide bottomed pot with tallish sides. Cook over medium heat, whisking more frequently as cooking progresses–approximately 15 minutes total. Cooking is done when cranberry concoction is bubbling, spitting at you and pulling away from bottom of pan.

When shortbread is done baking in oven, gently spread cranberry mixture on top. Return to oven for approximately 15-20 minutes. Remove from oven, cool. When cooled, refrigerate and then cut.

Garnish with powdered sugar, which will melt into cranberry, creating sweet glaze.


To be cut...

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Vegan Cranberry Shortbread Bars : Recipe

  1. Ekavali Dasi

    Looks lovely! You’re right, it would be a great Christmas dessert. Love the colors! I really wanted to make a cranberry dish but at $25.00 a pound!!! Yes, that’s right (and you thought walnut were ridiculous..) . I quickly canned the idea and bought some of that non-alcoholic sparkling cranberry juice for $3.50. Cheers!

    • sabjimata

      Okay. My husband is now planning a trip to India with 50lbs of cranberries in his luggage. Please find a buyer to meet him at the airport! xoxox

  2. This is a very unique recipe.. but looks very good. Happy Thanksgiving

  3. I love this vegan version! My version had so much butter in the cookie base that there was literally more butter than flour. I haven’t done much vegan baking (but I love raw food desserts) and I’m interested in giving it a try.

  4. Sunflowerdiva

    Vegan food! 😀 I’m trying to become vegan, so I will most definitely add this recipe to my list of vegan goodies to make!

  5. padi

    tell your husband that I’m so glad he tolerates me as your friend….those were some of the most delish vegan desserts I’ve ever had. ❤

    • sabjimata

      He tolerates you, you tolerate me…everyone tolerates my kids…this is called reciprocation 😉

      Seriously though, if we didn’t love you so much I would use butter!

  6. They look yummy and healthy 🙂

  7. Yum!! Cranberry is my new fave ingredient. So tart and delish. Your bars look fabulous. I’ll have to check out the full-on egg version too.

  8. I love that color and it’s so clever to do a no-egg. Hope you had a good holiday. Baby must be getting close to arrival? Jane F

  9. Pingback: A Mostly Vegan Thanksgiving | sabjimata

  10. Those look amazing! I love cranberry, too, and am definitely trying more vegetarian options.
    Just a month left til baby? This is when I’d find myself saying, “I can’t wait til this baby comes so I can get a good night’s sleep” then realize that it wasn’t going to happen then either! Enjoy these last few weeks with that special bond only you two share at the moment. I miss that.

    • sabjimata

      Hey RHome! Oh, I am so torn between having the little babe in me and GETTING HER OUT ALREADY!!! I am really enjoying your blog but have to ask: when are you going to start posting some parenting tips?

      • Good question. I’ll have to think on that one. Recipes are easier, because they’re far more likely to follow the rules and turn out the same every time!

  11. Pingback: Artisan Bread for Bumbling Fools | sabjimata

Leave a Reply

