Happy Thanksgiving! Eggless Pumpkin Pie Recipe

Happy Thanksgiving!

Remember my pumpkin pie post? Well, there’s been a recipe request, so here it is.

As for the crust, you can do a regular pie crust, homemade graham or nut crust or some kind of pre-made store bought. My current fave is the laminated crust, which I blogged about here. Super flaky. Like me.

Pumpkin Pie Recipe

(This is not the best recipe because the measurements are not exact…but it should work out 😉

1) Slice in half one small baking pumpkin, like kabocha squash. De-seed, place flesh down on parchment lined baking sheet and bake at 375 for about 40 minutes or until you can insert a knife through it. Baking pumpkin can be done a day ahead.
2) Cool and remove flesh. Puree.
3) Mix together pumpkin (food processor works well) with 1/4 cup arrowroot or cornstarch, 1 can evaporated milk, 2 cup sucanat, pinch of salt, 1.5 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tspn nutmeg, 1/2 tsp ginger, pinch cloves, pinch ground cardamom (optional).
4) Pour into your pie crust, bake in oven preheated to 400 degrees. Reduce heat to 350 when pie is in oven. Bake for 1 hour. Remove from oven, cool.

This recipe will make two tiny 9 inch pies (aluminum tins) or one large 9 inch pie.

I admit, this is not the best recipe in terms of exactness. I really just go off of a recipe, even for baking. You can substitute the evap. milk for sweetened condensed (reduce sugar) or milk or cream. Or coconut milk. About 1-3/4 cup. If you don’t have sucanat, you can use brown sugar or evaporated cane or turbinado or just whatever granulated sugar you normally use.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Happy Thanksgiving! Eggless Pumpkin Pie Recipe

  1. It’s official….I love your little pilgrim lady salt shaker. I have a santa s&p set that I may just have to photograph with one of my cards as a tribute to you. heehee. I think you and I could do some serious thrifty shopping together! How fun would that be?!

    • sabjimata

      You know I thought of you! I totally decided to get into thrifting since I have no money for any other lifestyle! There are good “antique” shops nearby…aka…junk shops!

      Next time I am in Canada, we are so go shopping!

      • It’s a date! Be sure to come to Western Canada…..specifically Calgary, Alberta when you do and we will go on a junkin’ spree for sure. How about garage sales? Do you venture out for those? I almost can’t wait for spring so I can start garage salen’ again. I promise I’m not a hoarder but since thrifting I find I can barely tolerate retail shopping. I’m so cheap now. haha.

Leave a Reply

