Laminated Pie Dough : Recipe How To

Wow…I’ve really confused some people with my last post. Patting myself on back for being totally unclear! In addition to the comment left by my South African friend Tulasi, I also received a couple of emails asking the same thing….ooops!    Here’s Tulasi’s comment from last nite:

I was just wondering how you get from the rolled out stick of butter to the flaky dough? How do you combine it with the flour and water mixture?

Ummm yeah. Would be good if I explained that. Here’s what I did for two large pie crusts with enough dough left over for a third. Yup, it’s in my freezer.

Laminated Pie Crust Recipe

6 cups flour (I used white spelt because that is what I have on hand but choose your own)

2 pinches of salt

water (did not measure….sorry)

*Combine these ingredients to form a smooth dough. Cover and let rest while you do the following with the butter.

*Take one stick of butter softened at room temp and roll out between 2 sheets of parchment paper. Very thin, but not translucent.  Place on a mobile flat surface, like a cutting board or cookie sheet and stick in fridge for about a half hour (that’s an honest guess) or until hard.

*Roll out dough on top of a sheet of parchment paper. Dough should be at least 1-1/2 times as large as rolled out butter. Peel one sheet of parchment off butter. Flip onto dough, centered.. Remove second sheet of parchment.

*Fold dough overhang onto butter, like a poorly wrapped gift. ROLL! Fold dough in half. Again. Maybe even again. Wrap in parchment and refrigerate for a half hour-ish.

*Remove dough from fridge, roll flat and thin, then fold it up again, wrap, refrigerate. I find it useful to roll it between the parchment to avoid having to flour the dough/work surface/rolling pin.

*Repeat 3 times.

*Divide dough into thirds and roll out as you normally would for a pie crust. Admire those layers!

**Dough can be made a few days ahead of time (or even over the course of a few days) and left in the refrigerator before the final roll out. Or even made ahead and frozen.***

This technique is based on my experience making croissants. For a great *how to* post on croissant making, including a video, visit this post on Sounding My Barbaric Gulp!

I am also contemplating running this dough through my pasta machine to get it ultra-thin, homemade phyllo style. We’ll see if I have time to make this a reality before the baby comes.

Hope this explanation is a little more helpful!

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Laminated Pie Dough : Recipe How To

  1. Pingback: Laminated Pumpkin Pie Crust : Upping the Flake Factor | sabjimata

  2. Elizabeth Wittig

    Thanks for the information, it arrived before I got around to asking for it! The pastry looks so delicious. Could you let me know how much butter is one stick? Here in the UK we are a bit of a mixture when it comes to weights and measures – Many of the rescipies that came down the family are pounds and ounces but things are sold in grams and kilos. butter arrives in 250g blocks.

    All this cooking for the family, where does the energy come from, part of the nesting thing before your little girl joins the family?

    • sabjimata

      Whooops! Yes, I am so provincially American with my measurements! Apologies. One stick o’butter would be a half of an American cup, 1/4 of a pound or….13.5 grams! Ah, I love Google for that last little measurement 😉

  3. Oh that just looks so yummy and flaky! I would love to see you make phyllo dough.
    And I just wanted to mention that I like your new pomelo picture…did you make something with pomelo zest?

    • sabjimata

      I made a pomelo jam/marmalade with the peel. Whole lot of peel on a pomelo LOL. Learned my lesson on that one!

      Okay, you are encouraging me to run the dough through the pasta maker. Sunday night’s task is set.

  4. So question about the spelt: is this suitable for celiacs? I.e. non wheat flour?
    Also, if I may offer an alternative method for getting the butter on the dough. I’ve always cut solidly frozen butter into tablespoons and chopped to consistency of small beads it in the food processor with a few tablespoons of the flour, then pressed it into a flat sheet on the rolled out dough. It doesn’t squish and keeps the dough cold and easy to turn.
    You’re having a girl? How wonderful! Mazel tov as we say in French.

    • sabjimata

      Jane–spelt is low gluten but not gluten free so it is good once in a while for people who are not so strict but no, it is not suitable for a gluten-free diet.

      I love your technique. It reminds me of one I saw online that involved putting the flour and butter in a ziploc and then rolling it out.

      Baby is supposed to be a girl. I feel very fortunate…will feel even more fortunate when this pregnancy is over and she is in our arms!

      Have a great Thanksgiving.

  5. Tulasi devi

    Thanks for the post dedicated in my honor, Sabji. Now I’ll really have to get stuck into some serious flaky pie crust/ croissant making….x

  6. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving! Eggless Pumpkin Pie Recipe | sabjimata

  7. Pingback: Baklava Made from Homemade Spelt Phyllo Dough | sabjimata

  8. Pingback: Recipe : Eggless Pumpkin Pie | sabjimata

  9. Pingback: Christmas Quilted Pastry | sabjimata

Leave a Reply

