Your Organic Food is Killing the Planet

Here is a short and sweet little pictorial (courtesy of Huff Post) touching on 8 organic food myths that also happen to coincide with many of my food pet peeves! Oh, joy.

Organic milk, such as Horizon brand, dumps its cows on massive feedlots and is an example of the lowpoints of agribusiness. How do you think Horizon sells its organic dairy so cheaply to Walmart? By carrying on in the same way that commercial dairies do–but with organic instead of conventionally grown grain.

Organic tv dinners–expensive crap wrapped in plastic packaging and then boxed. Waste.

Exotic, far-flung fruits and veggies make the list. I am definitely guilty of this one. Unfortunately, apples are an exotic fruit when you live in Florida. And the majority of organic apples that I’ve seen in the market come from New Zealand. Which, you know, is kind of on the other side of the world. One thing the Huffpo piece doesn’t touch on, but that I think is important to point out, is that the organic standards only apply to the growing process. Your organic bananas may be gassed with ethylene on the way to the market and nobody is going to say boo about it.

“Natural” advertised on the label. To paraphrase Michael Pollan, if it has a label, it probably isn’t natural.

Single Servings. Yes. This upsets me. I am not totally free of this. We do occasionally keep a stash some “natural” sugary granola bars for emergency situations, but in general, I am weary of snack packs and all the waste they generate.

Plastic water bottles. Cancer. Bad taste. Landfill. No thanks.

Soy junk is another item on the list that I must hang my guilty head in shame over. On road trips, it is our convenience food to fill up our kids. Tofu turkey. Smells like dog food to me. Vegan dog food I occasionally feed my children.

See, I am very judgmental when it comes to food, but am capable of admitting my wrongs. I feel more guilt over feeding my children lousy stuff or buying so called food with packaging than the average person.

Now, should I do a post about how there is truly no such thing as a “green remodel” (unless you salvage *everything*). How about you? Do you experience a direct correlation between your consumption and your accumulation of guilt?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Your Organic Food is Killing the Planet

  1. Got to disagree with a lot–not all, but a lot–of your post… I do believe if some of it is factual, i.e., your info on organic milk, then kudos, but I don’t drink cow milk anyway.

    I do buy all my produce organic. I do think it’s worth it.

    We can agree to disagree though. I’m fine with that.

    The only thing that makes me feel guilty, is that as a human race, we feel the need to put as many pesticides on our food in order to feed the masses, which in turn, gives us all disease.

  2. Yes! I try to buy locally grown produce and grass-fed beef, but I definitely don’t do as well as I should. Maybe I should read The Omnivore’s Dilemma again. I swore off feedlot beef after that book, but have slipped in my ways. I’m busy, busy, busy, and I buy more convenience-packaged foods than I should. Juice boxes and milk boxes and single serving foods. So easy to stash and run to our many extracurriculars. I need to get off my duff and try harder to join a decent CSA. The good ones here have wait lists that are longer than elite NYC preschools. Definitely a good thing, but not for me.

    • sabjimata

      Gena, thanks for the comment. Despite personally knowing some local CSA farmers, we don’t join. We were a part of a CSA when we lived in NC, but the variety….was lacking. And we are too conditioned to feeling deprived if we don’t get our broccoli when we want it. I understand about the busy life stuff. Everyone has their priorities and while some stuff I feel strongly about, it is not like I *never* use a paper plate or, like I said, buy granola bars. But at least we are trying, no? Hope all is well adn you are enjoying that gorgeous kitchen of yours!

  3. Ekavali Dasi

    Luckily and unfortunately packaged food in India is really crap. I feel totally guilty to buy stuff I know is junk. Therefor I tend to make things from scratch. Though there is some sort of satisfaction when I’m in America and I can buy a granola bar that’s not laden with corn syrup and the package says organic. I do occasionally buy stuff here in India for road trips but I really do try to avoid it as much as possible. The one problem I have with America is that most of the home cooking is adding precooked foods together to make one “home cooked” meal. The cans (which I just read is a major source of BPA’s) and plastic packaging to get all this half cooked food to make one meal. It’s kinda gross. We buy our veggies and fruits here from the market where local farmers come daily. Our produce doesn’t last more than 3-4 days in the fridge so we go a few times a week to keep it fresh. I buy my grains in bulk and get it ground at the mill. I feel healthier here as far as eating.

Leave a Reply

