Green Bean, New Potato, Chickpea Salad @ Pizza Party

Morning sun, washed pots left drying on the countertop and a cohesive menu. Great day for dinner guests!

Saturday night we had dinner guests. Since I am pregnant and of Advanced Maternal Age and enjoying the feel of my sciatic nerve, I got started cooking early in the day. The kitchen was not in bad shape, despite all the family togetherness gathered around the countertop the night before. Just had to put away the washed pots and get cooking. With lemons squeezed the night before and my pizza dough resting in the fridge, preparation was a slow and methodical cake walk.

A personal highlight of the evening for me was the Green Bean, New Potato, Chickpea Salad. I’ll share the recipe below. But first, pictures.

Fresh picked tarragon from our garden. My tiny stalk of heaven.

What I was looking forward to all day: green bean, new potato, chickpea salad.

Dessert included melty good chocolate chip cookies, a very un-photogenic yet delicious in a healthy kind of way whole wheat and spelt peach galette, homemade pumpkin ice cream and drippy whipped cream. Okay, I blended the whipped cream instead of whipping.

Here is a pic of the pumpkin ice cream, shot earlier in the week. The pumpkin is from Radharadhya and Kiriti's garden, in Emmaus. They gave it to us on our travels and I was able to turn it into a very pumpkin pie tasting frozen yum!

He loves me...He loves me not. HE LOVES ME! My husband took the kids for a walk while I had some ADULT COOK time. My lovely son returned with these flowers for me. Mmmuh!

Fresh from the oven, the kids' pie--no basil, just sauce and cheese.

Awwwww yeah! Satchel's kiss my butt! This pizza was voted BEST IN GAINESVILLE! And I live in Alachua!

This pregnancy loves hot! Chili hot. In addition to pies with basil, I made artichoke heart and chili pies as well as mushroom and kalamata. There was also a delicious organic green salad and little plates of Spanish and kalamata olives and roasted red peppers. Nosh nosh.

Green Bean, New Potato, Chickpea Salad

Just a delight! This cooked and chilled salad feels light and picnic-y but need not be limited to summer. Very versatile, can be paired with all sorts of entrees or served as a main dish along with some soup and a crusty slice of sourdough.

Ingredients:

7 cups chopped new potatoes (I used red petites)

4 cups green beans–prepped into 2 inch lenghts

2 cups cooked chickpeas

*Put the potatoes in a baking dish and drizzle with olive oil. Roast in a pre-heated oven for 30 minutes. Remove from oven, cool and refrigerate.

*Boil a pot of water, toss in green beans to blanch for one minute. Remove beans and transfer to a bowl of cold water. Drain and refrigerate.

*Boil chickpeas in salted water until done. Rinse and remove skins. Refrigerate.

For the dressing:

1 cup lemon or lime juice *or* light colored vinegar (I prefer lime juice but used apple cider vinegar)

1 cup olive oil

1/2 cup maple syrup

1/3 cup dijon mustard

*1.5 tspn salt

1/4 to a 1/2 cup fresh tarragon leaves *or* 1 to 2 tablespoons of dried tarragon

*Combine dressing ingredients in a blender

*Combine salad ingredients and toss with dressing. Marinate in refrigerator a few hours before serving.

*Right before serving, mix in fresh parsley, if available.

*Top with course ground salt and black pepper and serve cold.

5 Comments

Filed under cookies, italian, kitchen, kitchen tips, recipes, sabjimata, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Green Bean, New Potato, Chickpea Salad @ Pizza Party

  1. Elizabeth Wittig

    Love this salad idea – next time the yoga group has a pot luck lunch I will be taking this one, it looks so tasty I feel hungry looking at the picture.

    All the kitchen upheaval was worth it you have a fantastic homely and practical workspace. Your forward planning really paid off.

  2. mmmm…lunchtime, but your pizza is not here 😦

  3. Are you kidding me with that cookie pic? YUMMO!

    The salad looks great and I love that the potatoes are roasted. Have you ever roasted chick peas as a snack. I did once and they were pretty good. Just EVOO, S&P. I’ve heard that doing a cinnamon sugar roasted chickpea is good too but I’m not convinced.

Leave a Reply

