Eggless Plum Tart

I wanted to bake something. Something that I would not blame for my thighs rubbing together. Something with fruit. It’s summertime, after all!

We had plums in the fridge. Tart, oversized, un-Italian, totally American plums. Not the kind of plums you would find in a Williams poem. I would improve upon what they weren’t born with…and I would do it with butter and sugar. This tart recipe is very simple and allows the natural taste of your plums to shine. With improvements.

Want to play along? Here’s my recipe. Don’t be frightened off if you, like me, don’t own a tart plate. A pie pan worked pretty darn okay. Such a simple ingredient list, preparing this recipe makes me feel kind of like I stepped into the pages of a McCloskey book. So simple. So good. My son had three slices!

Plum Tart Recipe

Crust:
1 cup all purpose flour (I used white, wheat would be fine, too)
1/4 cup corn flour
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup cold butter, cut into small pieces

Pulse in a food processor. Add a tablespoon or two of cold water until forms a ball. Transfer to work surface and make into a mound/ball/large glob of dough. Don’t overwork dough. Wrap in wax paper or plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least an hour.

*I refrigerated 2 hours and thought it could be colder so I stuck my dough in the freezer.

When you have prepped the filling, take out the dough and roll it out between two pieces of parchment or wax paper. I had some ghee solids laying around so I rubbed that onto the dough for a little extra fatness. Feel free to do things like that on a whim.

Roll out to the size of your pie/tart plate. Transfer to plate and gently press in and cut away excess, if you have any (I rarely do).

Filling:
4 very large plums or 7-8 small plums
3/4 cup sucanat (yes, you can use a different type of sugar)
2 tablespoons arrowroot powder

Slice washed plums 1/4″ thick and combine in a bowl with sugar and arrowroot powder. Give it a mix and then arrange plum slices in a concentric circle on tart crust.

Bake in preheated oven at 400 degrees F for 35-45 minutes.

Remove from oven, let cool a few minutes and then carefully pour off any excess liquid–you may or may not have.

I had this time and saved the liquid for tofu marinade. Allow to cool on countertop and set. If desired sprinkle with powdered sugar when cooled. My husband ate his à la mode. I would have liked a dollop of fresh whipped cream.

Unwrapped and out of the freezer--the dough.

Plums, sucanat, arrowroot powder.

All mixed up.

Out of the oven, mostly cooled and topped with a course sprinkling of powdered sugar.

Up close...

Not fully cooled but fully delicious.

1 Comment

Filed under baking, kitchen tips, recipes, sabjimata

One response to “Eggless Plum Tart

  1. brooke

    Well we are totally related because saturday night for our fiesta I made a plum cobbler, I think the best in the world because I leave those plums tart (yowza!), just the way *I* like ’em. The topping is sugar cookie dough, just really loose (convereted from ATK Best Recipe) so it oozes beautifully. All the children and one of the parents had snow cones (“shaved ice”), and I threatened to single-handedly eat the cobbler, but then I had many takers and it was demolished. Which let’s face it, is good for my ego. (and my waistline)

    But a snowcone can be quite satisfying too ….

Leave a Reply

