Too Many Pumpkins

One of my faves.

One of my favorite book to read to my kiddies is Linda White’s Too Many Pumpkins. It is about a woman who hates pumpkins because as a child of poverty, she had to eat way too many of them. One day, a pumpkin truck bounding by her house loses a pumpkin in her yard. Splat! Probably about a hundred days later, she discovers that her land is overrun by pumpkins! What to do? The pumpkin heroine gets cooking, canning and baking. Neighbors come by to share in the pumpkin love. I find this book nothing short of inspirational.

Now, we don’t have much full sunshine in this pine forest of a yard of ours. And we don’t have much nutrient rich soil. But that did not stop me from ordering pumpkin seeds last night.

Here’s what’s coming in the mail from Sunrise Seeds. I am really excited. Here are the descriptions from the seed website:

Potimarron Squash

potimarron squash

Famous winter squash from France. Very aromatic and chestnut-like taste. One of the very best for baking and roasting. Nice sized 3-4 pound fruit store well. 85-95 days.


Amish Pie Squash

amish pie squash

Heirloom variety obtained by James Robinson from an Amish gardener in Maryland. One of the best processing pumpkins we have ever grown. The slightly pale orange flesh measures up to 5″ thick, and the largest fruits weigh 60-80 pounds. Firm moist flesh is excellent for making pies and for freezing. 90-105 days.

Musque de Provence

musque de provence

Also called “Muscat de Provence”, French Heirloom rare winter variety. Flattented extremely tanned 5 to 10 lb fruits have a smooth orange terra-cotta finish to it. Deep ridges and sweet flesh. Particularly know for lasting in storage throughout all of winter, a most excellent storage variety! The finest “Cheese Wheel” type Pumpkin/Squash for eating you will find!


LA ESTRELLA CALABASA

la estrella calabasa

A tropical pumpkin hybrid from the University of Florida. Bred by Dr. Don Maynard for uniform fruit size and superior flesh color. When grown in the northern states, La Estrella produces 10 pound fruit in 125 days. When it is grown in Florida in the winter, La Estrella produces 6 pound fruit in 70 days.

Because  our growing conditions are less than ideal and it is Florida, I am hoping for an average of a few 4-5 pounders. Like with most things in life, I tend to set my expectations at the low end of the spectrum. Also, I am a very lazy girl, so although there are things I can do to increase our pumpkin yield. I most likely won’t do them. The last variety listed seems most promising, since it was tweaked right down the road at UF.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Too Many Pumpkins

  1. Cristina

    Looks like a cute book! I love pumpkin 🙂
    Favorite child type recipes: Buckwheat noodles in a pumpkin peanut sauce and pumpkin carob muffins.

  2. Christina

    Hi Sabjimata. Your kitchen is beautiful and wonderfully unique. I followed you here from gardenweb where I only read posts, never comment. But your pumpkin story hit close to home because although we are not very scientific about our compost pile, we have thrown much kitchen and garden waste in a corner in our yard. Well last winter we had a hedge planted and when we ran out of soil amendment, the nurserymen used our really very beautiful “compost” to plant a crepe myrtle in the front corner of our yard. Starting this spring, under that crepe myrtle we had growing vining plants that we figured must be zucchini, but as the fruit grew larger and more round, we realized that they are pumpkins! Many pumpkins and their vines are growing around, under, and through the fence and the new hedge. We really love the abundant randomness of it all and we plan to use those pumpkins one way or another, even if they are likely the next generation of last year’s jack-o-lanterns and not the gorgeous varieties that you will be planting. I love reading your posts that are so full of love and life, and I wish you and your beautiful family all good things.

    • sabjimata

      Hi Christina! Nice to make your acquaintance! I LOVE your pumpkin story. I think that kind of stuff is the best. My neighbor had some winter squash and zucchini growing right next to her composter this summer and I do think it is a small blessing….much like unplanned pregnancies 😉 Very happy to hear you did not stomp those vines. I am sure it only made your crepe myrtle look *that* much more beautiful!

      Thanks for the kitchen compliments. Hope it is all over soon!

  3. Christina

    I had to come back and tell you about a library book that I used to read with my children entitled, “Jam A True Story” by Margaret Mahy. I could never do justice to the book with my own synopsis, so I will link one here.
    http://www.amazon.com/Jam-Margaret-Mahy/dp/0316543969

    • sabjimata

      Well, well, well. I do have a soft spot for jam! We have jamberry and I love the final pics in Blueberries for Sal. Another beautiful book I love is Oxcart Man. So apropos for the modern day urban homesteader. Thanks for sharing your Jam book! Will definitely check it out.

Leave a Reply

