Grout & Tile

Meadow green glass mosaic tile from Hakatai Classics line. Cheap! Love the green, especially with the white ranges. Love the tiled soffit--looks more loveable in real life. Obviously there is some de-fingerprinting that needs tending to.

Porcher London sink in front of Meadow Hakatai tile. Running water in the kitchen, I long for you! Today was supposed to be the day but it looks like tomorrow is the new day.

You saw this yesterday but here it is again. It looks so slick! Gray grout, white subway tile. Cheap yet classy.

Mint Ice tile is so sooooothing. Bluer in real life.

Husband. Tile. Two of my greatest loves in life. The two 72" stainless steel restaurant shelves still need to go up. Hopefully that will happen soon.

Who'd of thunk that I would love the white (Porcelain) glass mosaic tile so much on the support post? This support post has been the bane of the remodel, yet I managed to build a good design in spite of it. And now, grouted with white, I love it! Well, love as far as a support post is deserving of love. Okay, maybe a smidge more.


White on white. On white on white. On white. There are a whole lot of competing whites that seem to get along just fine in my kitchen. Matchy matchy would not have been a pretty sight.

8 Comments

Filed under kitchen, kitchen design, kitchen remodel

8 responses to “Grout & Tile

  1. Babhru

    Your place is really shaping up. I think what you’ve done with the support post is inspired. Some might have been tempted to go with the green tile you used on the divider, but that would have been a big mistake. The white tile and white grout really seems to take it out of the picture.

    That green tile on the divider is a little darker than the tile we used on the window sills of our house on the Big Island. It’s 4″ bullnose tile, and the color is called Bottle Green. It works really well with the tile on the floor.

    • sabjimata

      Thanks for the sweet comments, neighbor. The post was a real question mark for us but I am very happy with how it turned out. Even if everything was ugly, it would still be better than what we had before! I just wish it were done already. We are past the two month mark now.

    • sabjimata

      Oh, btw…anything called “bottle green” must look lovely. “Bottle green” has always been one of my favorite sari colors.

  2. Brooke

    I may be a fuchsia gal but that Meadow Hakatai is making me swoon! I love all of it. All of it, I tell you! I love that it’s not all the same tile, the same shade of green. The subtle variations help the eye move but not be shocked by shocks of color. (although I’m always ready for some shocking color!) And that white post with white grout was inspired, Sabjimata. Did you know I like white-on-white in a kitchen? Ha ha ha ha ha! Duh. But it’s really masterful the different colors / textures you have dancing throughout the room.

    Know that song “California here I come?” Well, I’m singing it with your equally syllabic town replacing the California. I know, how many times can I allude to coming to your house without it becoming creepy? Hmm.

    Brava!

  3. I don’t agree with decor “nostrums” such as ‘can’t do this’ or ‘must do that’ — not with color or anything else. Neither do you judging from the mix in your kitchen. Looks like it’s coming along at pace — will be so interesting to see the final result. Thanks for stopping by. Jane F.

  4. Kera

    The tile looks great!

  5. Gaurangi Priya

    Good god, you are quite the kitchen goddess!! It all looks stunning, and so elegant, and ultra classy.

    • sabjimata

      Kitchen Goddess or kitchen slave? LoL…that is what I ask myself everyday. At least now my prison is bitchin’ !

Leave a Reply

