Kitchen Delivery Part I

Things have begun arriving for the kitchen remodel. We closed on the loan yesterday and received a visit from UPS Freight today. We are still waiting for the flooring to be delivered, a faucet and the soapstone sink. I need to order my stoves, backsplash and cabinet hardware. But first, I need some room on the credit card.

My tile samples are here! I ordered all the green (non-frosted) subway tiles from Modwalls and slowly but surely, they arrived. Just as I suspected from viewing them online, the greens are not appropriate for my application. I like the Lemongrass and Wasabi (on the right), and even the Moss (center, left), but still, I want a truer green. The tiles are really beautiful, though. Thankfully, the color is not right because $20+/sq. ft. would have really crunched the budget.

This is what I am going to go with. Hakatai Classic glass tile–even though it doesn’t look very glassy. It is opaque and, I believe, made from recycled materials. I like the Ficus color, however, will probably get Ivy because it is lighter. Although I am really liking the Ficus. Anyway, at less than $6/sq. ft., this tile works on many levels. Even though they are not glassy glass, the colors are vibrant and deep. I dig!

My faucets are here! Well, at least three of them. This kitchen will definitely have too many faucets; even I am disgusted by this! I love these three, however. Kingston Brass satin nickel wall mounts. Very heavy, great quality, low lead, despite being made in China. We had almost the exact same faucets in the old house, except the simpler ones will have a longer spout reach this time around.

This light is very simple and very favorite of mine. It will go between the breakfast nook and dining room area.

These are my affordable wall sconces that will gently light the dining room and breakfast nook.

Cheap and functional: My $16 flushmounts. I have a couple of larger sized ones (2 bulbs) for over the sinks and one for the middle of the kitchen What is so lovely about these lights is that there are no screws...the glass just twists into the fitter.

Today UPS Freight delivered our Porcher London 30" fireclay apron front sink.

It was padded, wrapped and strapped on a pallet.

Oooh! So exciting! We had a 24" at our old house but this one looks so much bigger!

No cracks! Can't wait to get it up and running...

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

