Finally, The Choice Has Been Made For Me

It’s official. I’ve joined the overburdened masses of people who are living way beyond their means. To work or not to work is no longer a question of luxury for this middle class white woman. I have descended into a realm where the choice has been taken away from me. I am a consumer. With a line a credit.

The easy thing about getting the go-ahead to remodel a kitchen after a year of fantasizing about it is that everything is all picked out. Unfortunately, the devil is in the details (honestly, I’m not a fan of that saying–but it’s so late that it seems like an appropriate time to take a cliche and run with it). Today, yesterday and the nite before last, I have spent loads of time finalizing finish choices, counting out light fixtures, all the while crouching over the keyboard like a shriveled old witch attempting to cast spells that backfire.

To be honest with you, I have no idea what the hell that last part is supposed to mean. It’s late. I have to be in class in 6 and a half hours and my back and knees and eyes hurt from a day of online shopping.

Want to see what I bought?

72" STAINLESS STEEL RESTAURANT SHELVING. TWO OF THEM.

FLUSH MOUNT LITE. REAL SIMPLE. I THINK WE HAD THIS ONE OVER THE KITCHEN SINK WHEN I WAS GROWING UP.

GOLDEN TEAK PRE-FINISHED WOOD FLOOR. DESTROYING THE RAINFOREST 5/16TH OF AN INCH AT A TIME. YES, COST WAS A BIG FACTOR. I FEEL GUILTY. BUT PLEASE, BLAME LUMBER LIQUIDATORS FOR SELLING IT SO DAMN CHEAP 😦

JUST LIKE MY MOTHER-IN-LAW'S.

IN CASE YOU HAVEN'T PICKED UP ON IT, I DO HAVE A LIGHTING THEME. IT IS CALLED "CHEAP." BORROWING FROM MY LAST KITCHEN REMODEL, OUTDOOR LIGHTING PROVES TO BE VERY EFFECTIVE WHEN PRICE ENGINEERING A KITCHEN. THIS SCONCE WILL APPEAR IN FOUR SPOTS ALONG OUR DINING ROOM WALL.

PORCHER LONDON FIRECLAY APRON FRONT SINK. I HAD THE 24" ONE IN MY OLD KITCHEN. WENT FOR THE 30" THIS TIME AROUND.

I HAD THIS FAUCET IN DUPLICATE OVER MY SOAPSTONE SINK IN PA HOUSE AND WILL PULL THE SAME LOOK HERE IN FLORIDA. SATIN NICKEL, KINGSTON BRASS. A SUPER GOOD BARGAIN. THIS FAUCET COST $100 DOLLARS, HAS AN 11" DISCHARGE FROM THE WALL, CERAMIC DISK CARTRIDGES, ALL THAT GOOD STUFF. IT COSTS AT LEAST $400 LESS THAN FANCY PANTS WALL MOUNTED FAUCETS. AND THAT'S A GOOD THING.

ANOTHER KINGSTON BRASS SATIN NICKEL FAUCET REPEAT FROM THE OLD HOUSE. AGAIN APPEARING OVER THE PORCHER SINK.

THIS ROHL POT FILLER FAUCET IS A TOTAL GUILTY PLEASURE. THANKFULLY, IT WAS NOT PROHIBITIVELY GUILTY. AT LEAST NOT THIS EARLY IN THE BUY-A-THON, BEFORE THE MONEY IS TOTALLY WIPED OUT. USUALLY PEOPLE INSTALL THIS OVER THE RANGE, BUT I REALLY HAVE NO NEED FOR THAT. THIS WILL MOUNT ABOVE THE MIDDLE OF MY BIG SINK. IT IS A COLD WATER DISPENSER. YOU KNOW, LIKE WHEN YOU ARE WASHING POTS WITH REALLY HOT WATER AND NEED COLD WATER BUT IT TAKES LIKE, YOU KNOW, THREE WHOLE SECONDS FOR THE WATER TO COOL DOWN? WELL, I'VE JUST ADDED THREE WHOLE SECONDS TO MY DAY!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

