Green Kitchens

Ever since seeing a Crown Point kitchen in quarter sawn oak with hand glazed green subway tiles like these Pratt and Larson tiles from Mission Tiles West, I instantly knew I had a thing for deep green watery looking back splashes. Unfortunately, love don’t come cheap. Tiles like this are a good $30+ a square foot. There never has been and is never going to be a time when I can afford such tile.

For my last kitchen remodel, we went with carrera subway tiles @ $8/sq foot and painted the walls BM Land of Liberty. This time around, the job is even bigger and the budget even tighter. I am going with basic white subway tiles from Lowes. They cost something like 22 cents a tile. And the walls will get a coat of a light bluish gray. So really, the kitchen will have no relation to the green that my heart beats for.

But I will always have these pictures…

This green backsplash is subtle and adds to the lightness of this open kitchen.

Minty green is not exactly my cup of tea, but still, I love the crispness of it when combined with white and stainless. Glass tiles are so luminous. I am definitely attracted to them, despite the fact that they remind of Miami Vice episodes.

green subway tile

This arts & crafts style kitchen with hand glazed tiles makes me feel all warm and cozy.

green subway tile backsplash

More mint.

Totally kelly! These 4 x 4's are so 1960's, wish my house had them.

I am a fan of these olive green colored subway tiles. Especially with the warm stained wood cabinets. And notice the fan? It is a super cheapie from Lowes and will be appearing my dining room soon!

Who's house? Gwen's house! This house used to belong to Gwen Stefani and is very LA Spanish-cute. Minty fresh!

More 4 x 4's. Lovely modern simple. My kind of green.

Charlie Sheen's old digs, complete with minty cabs.

Mise' en scene in perfect green. Hands down my fave.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

