My, My Meyer Lemon!

In preparation for the new year and my vow to live in the now (damn, I rhymed), I went ahead with a little jam making despite wanting to wait for my new kitchen. New  kitchen? At this rate, it does not look likely anytime in my 30’s. However, the local Florida Meyer lemons are here *now* and once they’re gone, well, they’ll just be silly expensive at the market.

Last nite I got out my paring knife and enjoyed the clean smell of fresh lemons. Bifurcating the peel, I scooped out the lemon innards, de-pitted and then looked at my lemon halves in awe. Meyers are a beautiful lemon.

Meyer lemon: halved and defleshed.

At this point in the evening, I didn’t have big plans for the peel. So I zested the peel, wrapped it up nicely and deposited it in the Sabjimata freezer section, keeping in mind the vegan pound cake recipe in Veganomicon.

Meyer Lemon Zest

Six lemons equalled four cups of juicy lemon stuff. Perfect for one recipe of jam.

Meyer Lemon Jam Prep

I had the seeds on the counter when my husband walked in, admiring their bigness. We (he) planted some Meyer lemon seeds a few weeks back, but he said they were way lest virile looking than these babies. We (he) will plant some new trees from these juicy seeds, which will hopefully yield a nice citrus grove for me to frolic about with a sheer dupatta lip-syncing Bollywood songs.

From these seeds a grove shall grow forth.

Originally I bought the lemons to make jam from, yes. But I had a greater vision. I wanted to serve a rich Italian-style rice pudding in the empty lemon halves, topped with a spot of lemon jam and dark chocolate shavings. Yum. But my husband dashed that fantasy when he called rice pudding the step-child of desserts?  Or was it orphan? Anyway, his point was that after eating a big meal, rice pudding was an unwanted burden to gulp down.

Really?

I don’t know. But I don’t want any bastard desserts at my birthday so my cutesy pudding boats went the way of the compost.

Not after a little decorating experimentation, though.

The near perfectness of the Meyer's shape lends itself easily as a natural candle holder.

Be honest. They do make a totally cute tea light holder! Don’t know if I will be using this idea, however, since putting my peels to much tastier use. Candied Meyer lemon peel!

STEP ONE:

Score the lemon with paring knife into sixths.

Meyer lemon prepped and ready to peel.

STEP TWO:

Peel back rind.

Peeling back the layers...

STEP THREE:

Cut into strips about 1/4″ wide. With paring knife, remove white pith.

Sixths and then eighteenths.

Excess pith removed. Blanched twice, cooked once.

STEP FOUR:

Boil water and blanche peels then drain. Repeat.

STEP FIVE:

I used 3 Meyer lemons, which are about the size of a navel orange. For step five, I brought 4 cups of water to a boil and then added 3 cups of sugar. Stir and dissolve. Add sliced peel. Stir, bring to boil, reduce heat and simmer for one hour.

Meyer lemon, sugar, water, cook, candy.

STEP SIX:

Remove peels with slotted spoon and put in sieve to strain. Within a few seconds transfer to bowl and toss with sugar. You may also add some citric acid if you like the taste of Sour Patch Kids. Coat evenly in sugar and then let candied peels cool on parchment paper.

Sugar Volcano

Ideally, you will have a lovely lemon infused syrup left behind. I, of course, had a volcanic eruption which hardened into a tasty, yet difficult to mine, sweet pumice.

Candied Delight

The resulting candy tasted all too pleasing. Candied Meyer lemon peel definitely takes some time to prepare. The slicing, the de-pithing, the slow cooking. And my kitchen and my skin are coated in a sweet sticky mess. But the candy. The candy! It’s so good! Too good. Good like you want to keep popping it into your mouth good. But when you know how much time it took to make, then it truly helps temper the voraciousness of the tongue and appreciate, slowly, the treatiness of this treat.

And did I mention I made some jam? I think I did at the beginning of this post.

You guessed it...Meyer Lemon Jam!

Délicieuse.

I made some croissants today for my kids and our neighbor friends. It wasn’t until the evening that I tasted one *with* the lemon jam. So good. But you know what would have been better? If I baked a square of dark chocolate into the croissant. The sour sweetness of this jam is just begging to be paired with the bitter flavor of dark chocolate. Minimum 70% cocoa.

I can imagine this jam in between the layers of a rich chocolate cake or filling a chocolately iced eclair.  Sounds good, no? Hopefully this is the perfect evening post to help you have sweet dreams. I am headed off to the bedroom, avoiding the kitchen along the way. I have a batch of candied satsuma orange peels cooling on the counter and if I get too close, I just might burn my tongue.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “My, My Meyer Lemon!

  1. Tulasi devi

    All obeisances unto you, O domestic goddess of candied peel and yummy lemon jam.

  2. sabjimata

    oh tulasi, how i love getting comments from you!

    have a happy new year, love. i’ll be waiting for you to start blogging in 2010!

  3. YAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYY YOU ARE BACK!!Hari haribol!!!! You are killing me with those pictures…anything lemon calls out to me *drool* Miss you!!! ❤

    • sabjimata

      yes i love lemon! thank goodness…makes those rough florida winters bearable 😉 my pictures cannot compare to your idyllic life shots! just let me know if you are ever selling one of your cameras 😉 have a happy new year, sweetie!

  4. cristina

    mmmm..yum..sweet and sour Meyer lemons!
    love the peels and love the combo of lemon and cho-co-la-te! and croisssants!

  5. barbara

    Rice pudding is wonderful.

  6. ginger

    I have one big fat juicy beautiful lemon on my little Meyer lemon tree. Not sure what we’re going to do with the one lemon??

  7. Pingback: Christmas Cookies and Holiday Jam! | sabjimata

Leave a Reply

