Around the Web, Around the Way

In case you didn’t know, I spend a lot of time online. I love the internet. It is my best friend who rarely gives me any lip and only sometimes needs an ass whooping.

Let me share with you some fun finds I’ve encountered thus far this week. Don’t be mistaken; the really really good stuff I keep to my self.

Alicia Silverstone. I would rather go naked than not love her. She has that new cookbook out, The Kind Diet, which actually looks kinda good. Oh how I would love to buy me some cookbooks, but, you know, the economy.

alicia silverstone vegetarian

Here is a recipe from Alicia’s cookbook for Kind Brownies. No eggs. No dairy. No worries. Alicia’s got you covered. If anyone out there tries this recipe before I get to it, please let me know how much or how little you love-like it.

Despite the meatiness of this blog, I really want to try out these decadent vegan bars now that I have a killjoy friend who no longer walks on the dairy dark side with me. I’ve tried, but I am a total vegan failure. At least these bars will get me through the dessert course.

Reposting from The Way the Cookie Crumbles:

Cookie Crumble's Shot

Vegan Chocolate-layered Bars
Bottom layer : 1/2 cup earth balance (or other vegan margarine)
1/4 cup sugar
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa
1 tbsp flax meal
3 tbsp water
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups crushed graham crackers or crumbs
1 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Middle layer: 1/4 cup earth balance (or other vegan margarine)
2 cups confectioners’ sugar
2 tbsp vanilla custard powder (or instant vanilla pudding powder)

3 tbsp plain soy milk (I used coconut milk)

Top layer: 4 ounces semi-sweet chocolate
1 tbsp earth balance (or other vegan margarine)


Directions

To make bottom layer: Grease a 9-inch square cake pan. (Marika recommends lining the bottom with parchment that stuck out the top so you can lift everything out after). In a small bowl, beat flax meal and water together until frothy, set aside.In a sauce pan over low heat, combine 1/2 cup earth balance, sugar, cocoa, and vanilla . Add flax mixture and stir constantly until mixture thickens. Add graham crackers crumbs, coconut, and chopped nuts, stirring to combine. Press the mixture into the greased pan.

To make middle layer: In a large bowl, beat together 1/4 cup earth balance, confectioners’ sugar, vanilla custard powder, and soy milk until creamy. Spread custard mixture over graham cracker base in pan. Refrigerate until firm, at least 1 hour.

To make top layer: Melt semi-sweet chocolate and 1 tbsp earth balance. Pour over chilled bars and spread over top. Return to refrigerator to chill until firm (at least 1 hour).

Thank you to Cookie for this tempting treat!

Other news around the internet town: Apartment Therapy has 25 Vegetarian and Vegan Meals up as part of their “Best of 2009” re-cap. Let me know if you’ve tried any of the recipes.

Jonathan Safran Foer continues to baffle me. For one, he looks too much like my friend, Jayadeva. Just see:

J S Foer

Jayadeva

The resemblance is ridiculous, isn’t it? So, does this mean that I think my friend Jayadeva is hot since I think Jonathan is hot? And why do both their names begin with the letter ‘J.’ Maybe they are….the same person! See, freaking me out.

Oh, but I think Jon Jon is hot because of his BRAINS, despite the stupid liberal vegetarian crap he pulls like saying his son will one day come home having eaten a hot dog at a birthday party because hot dogs are so tempting and delicious. And now goes public about how politically correct he is in his choice of restaurants. He is a media darling, the Naomi Wolf of vegetarians. Instead of putting his money in the register of strictly veg establishments, Foer likes to nosh his way around Brooklyn eating vegetarian selections at meat restaurants!!! So sayeth the Vegetarian Star.

Oh, Jonathan, say it isn’t so!  Jonathan, Jonathan, Jonathan. What am I going to do with you? I voted you into office because I thought you were really going to make some radical changes. You represented youthfulness. Your wife sometimes wears J.Crew, which is still out of my price range but is remarkably plebeian.

Oh wait, that’s a different disappointing public figure who I can’t stop but loving, despite the disappointment of his true moderate stance. These men just seem to have a hold on me…

In more local and personal news, I am getting ready to turn 35. Saturday I will have a small birthday party (yes, I am throwing my own party) and went out shopping today for stuff. As part of my New Year’s resolution, I am striving to cultivate an attitude of gratitude. No, just joking, although that isn’t a bad thing to do. I just can’t have a rhyme as my New Year’s resolution.

I want to be satisfied; to be happy in the present. So what if my kitchen sucks and my dining room looks worse than a school cafeteria. I am having my birthday party and I am having it with chairs (many of which will be of the folding variety) and tables and tablecloths.

Despite the fact the everyone I invited has kids and that we are not the most formal of folk, my desire for my birthday is to feed the kids, send them away to destroy the nether regions of my house and then sit with some friends at tables (as opposed to grabbing a spot on the floor) and eating in relative peace.

Will I be able to pull it off? Probably not completely. But as long as I endeavor to have all the pieces in place, I am resigned to whatever manifests in actuality. Well, everything except friends showing up without RSVP’ing. That just won’t work.

I hit Urban Threads on 13th today, hoping to find a tablecloth or two for the party. The actual tablecloths were well out of my price range, however, I did score a window panel and a cloth shower curtain which are sized within reason for my tables.

Here’s my finds:

Urban Outfitters window panel-cum-tablecloth

Urban Outfitters cloth shower curtain repurposed as table cloth.

Now to start working on getting my house in order to cook. See you soon!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Around the Web, Around the Way

  1. Tulasi devi

    Love those cloth shower curtain/ window panel repurposed as tablecloths. All very shi-shi, dahling. Sure your soiree will be a mega-hit! Wishing you all the best for the coming year – including a state-of-the art kitchen fitted with your dream fawcets 🙂

  2. Tulasi devi

    Just experimenting with emoticons (don’t mind me) 😉 😛 :]

  3. Yay. Happy Birthday Deva. Your posts make me want to go visit Florida and I thought I didn’t like Florida.

Leave a Reply

