Cranberry Apple Pie Crisp

What do you do when your friend comes by with a half bushel of red delicious apples? No, I mean after you sigh to yourself that they are red delicious. Yes, I did give some away. Will you just be quiet and let me write!

Pie, people, pie! Yeah, I know…applesauce is nice, too. But that doesn’t fit into today’s post. Pie. Good for the Jews, good for the goyim. Everybody likes pie. Even those people who don’t fit into the Judeo-Christian dichotomy reach for their fork when pie is on the table. And I am not just talking bean pie.

This pie is a little fun because it’s pie on the bottom and crumble on top. I know there is a joke in there somewhere, but my kids are home on break and I can’t wrap my wit around it.

Anyway, below is the recipe, which I worked out today. Damn fine baked good if I do say so myself. I added a tablespoon of homemade ginger jam to the mix because, well, I make homemade ginger jam. If you do too, I recommend you dollop your filling with it.

The Ingredients

Cranberry Apple Pie Crisp Recipe

INGREDIENTS

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1.5 cups fresh  cranberries

1 cup natural sugar sugar (evaporated cane, turbinado or sucanat all work great)

1 cup AP flour + some more

zest of 2 oranges

3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

pinch o’ nutmeg

pinch o’ ground cardamon (optional)

1/4 teaspoon salt

6 cups sliced peeled  apples (about 2 1/4 pounds)

10-inch pie pastry for a single-crust pie

2/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar

4 tbsp butter
What to do:
1) Prepare the pie crust (instructions below) and refrigerate.

2 ) Preheat oven to 375°F. In a large bowl mix 1 cup natural sugar with 6 tbsp flour, orange zest, cinnamon, nutmeg, optional cardamom, vinegar and salt.  Add cranberries and apples and mix well. Pour filling into unbaked pie pastry

3) In another bowl mix 1 cup flour with 2/3 cup of brown sugar. Add 4 tbsp butter (more if needed) and cut in with a pastry blender or rub with your fingers until the mixture forms small lumps. I just pulse the food processor for this one, then switch to my hands. Crumble over pie filling.

4) Put pie on lower rack in pre-heated oven (375 degrees) and bake for 55 minutes. You may want to put a cookie sheet underneath to catch any pie juice that may bubble over.

5) Cool 3-5 hours and then slice and serve.


Looky  here! My ginger jam. Hot and sweet, I put a bit in the pie mix and also added some to the peanut sauce for tonite’s dinner: spicy rice noodle salad. I can get away with serving the husband salad for dinner when there is pie for dessert.

Pie crust:

I only have luck with the pie crust recipe from Miriam Kasin Hospodar’s cookbook, Heaven’s Banquet. Miriam is quite zaftig, so her recipes are sure to rock.

To make it simple for you, I am going to sum up Miriam’s recipe, which can be found on pages 406-408 of her cookbook. That’s right…three pages!

Ingredients:

2 cups AP flour

1/2 tsp salt

2/3 cup butter COLD COLD COLD butter

5-6 tbsp cold water

What to do:

Stick your flour and salt in your food processor with the metal knifey blade. Add the butter straight from the fridge (cut it up into little pieces). Pulse. Add the water (the less the better), pulsing along the way.

Dump the stuff into a bowl. Mush it together, touching it minimally. Wrap in saran or do as I do and just put it back in the bowl. Stick in fridge for at least an hour. Take out of fridge (or if you can somehow work inside your fridge, that would be rad!). Take  a big ol’ piece of parchment paper (I re-use mine! That’s right…you can *wash* paper) and fold in half. Put pie dough mound on center of one half. Fold over. Press and roll with rolling pin.

Open up paper. Turn upside down onto pie plate so dough is now on/in pie plate. Press in and remove paper. Voila!

Filling in pie crust, pictured next to bowl of crumble.

Assembled and oven ready.

Out of the oven...

...and into the sunlight.

Slice.

Sliced.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Cranberry Apple Pie Crisp

  1. looks delicious! you are so clever in the kitchen.

  2. Thumbs up. Best apple crisp ever!

  3. sabjimata

    awwwww….thanks, lovie!

Leave a Reply

