Kitchens I Could Live In

Why be so negative all the time? Apparently, being in a New Jersey state of mind isn’t easily understood outside the northeast. In an effort to turn that frown upside down, here are some kitchens I would happily live in. Or be buried in for that matter.

I really like this little cutie, despite the oh so common Haverhill pendants. Let’s assess the good points: lovely marble countertops, two sinks, blue glass subway tile and a plate full of lemons. All that natural light doesn’t hurt my feelings any, either.
While some FB friends have commented that the white and blue look is too sterile and icy, let me remind you that I live in Florida where it is usually tacky and hot.

This kitchen uses natural materials very well, from the old wooden floorboards to the distressed island table, humungo apron sink and creamy painted wood cabs. And the best part? It lives in a converted church! I would love to lose my religion in this kitchen…whatever the f that means.

“Life is hard. After all, it kills you.” –Katharine Hepburn

Love this old kitchen! Drawers, big stove, open shelving and slate floor. What to speak of the ballsy chick scrubbing the pots. The remodel of Hepburn’s kitchen in her familial estate is nice, too. Especially that ginormous custom marble sink.
I could go on and on with my kitchen likes, but I do need time for cooking, after all. Let’s just say my desires don’t always fit my budget so when we remodel I need to pick and choose my indulgences. Some must haves for my future kitchen include:
solid wood cabs
honed marble countertops
really big sink
reverse osmosis water filter
wall mounted faucets
symmetry
under cab lighting
a ridiculous amount of overhead lighting
two ranges
wood floor
What I won’t be getting:
white inset cabs
more natural light
Lacanche range
Vent-A-Hood range hood
fancy backsplash tile
pantry
high, coffered ceiling
white porcelain chandelier over sink
another refrigerator
two dishwashers
What I will be:
satisfied.
Leave a comment

Filed under kitchen design

Leave a Reply

