Kitchen Design & Decorating Pet Peeves (Part 2)

Cabinets of Varying Heights

Either you like it, or you don’t. I don’t.
“Interesting” Backsplashes, White Floor Tile, Kitchen Rugs, Leaded Glass Doors

Wow! This picture is really packing them in. Let’s start with the backsplash.
Everyone who works at a tile store will tell you how wonderful tile is. How you can do endless amounts of interesting things with tile. On a budget? No problem! Just install this 4 x 4 white ceramic tile this way and you totally have a new look! No one will ever know that it is bathroom tile! Wrong.
There is no reason to be ashamed of a 4×4 white tile. And there is no reason to try and dress it up by forcing it to perform en pointe. This design reminds me way too much of quilted Charmin toilet tissue.
Now let’s move downward. Floor tile. First of all, I am not a fan. Call me a klutz, but I am much too experienced to hope for the best when dropping a glass on a tile floor. But yes, tile is a standard kitchen flooring choice. But white tile? The only good thing I can think about white floor tile is that you eliminate the guesswork of figuring out when your floors need a sweep and a mop.
Rugs. In kitchens. Hmmm. I understand why someone might put a rug in front of the sink, especially if they have a tile floor. And are prone to slipping. But elsewhere in the kitchen, such as a food prep area? What this looks says to me is, “I don’t cook.” Or, “I don’t give a damn about the cleaning girl I hire to spot clean my messes.”
Leaded glass doors are quite expensive and quite particular to a certain species of taste. If you are at all concerned about resale, I recommend forgoing such expressions of your arts and craftiness.

Pot Fillers and The Decorative Backsplashes They Are Mounted On


Call me old fashioned, but I don’t mind filling up a pot at the sink and carrying it over to the stove. The idea of a faucet above my stove does frighten me a bit. And what to speak of the fact that you would have to hide your reverse osmosis water filtration system in a base cab adjacent to your cooktop, thus wasting prime storage real estate.

As for the backsplash, it just looks tacky to me. But I suppose it’s no biggie if you have enough money to rip out your backsplash when you get sick of looking at the same boring scene borrowed from the oil painting in your GI doctors waiting room.

Cabinets That Don’t Touch The Ceiling



This is my biggest personal issue with cabinets. I loathe the space between the ceiling and the wall cab. I loathe the artificial vines and flowers that people stick up there to decorate. I loathe the use of the space as extra storage for anything not beautiful (I know, that goes against my oath of practicality when it comes to all things kitchen, but we are living in a world of hypocrisy, people!). And above all, I loathe the idea of having to clean the tops of the cabinets. It is my opinion that good design aids in the ability to keep things clean. This design creates more work. I know that 42 inch wall cabs give you some unusable/unreachable space…but at least they cut down on the dusting.

1950’s Diner Kitchens…That Aren’t A Real Diner.

I love period remodels. Really, I do. But opening a theme restaurant in one’s home is flat out bizarre. And I don’t mean that in a “Go on! Fly your freak flag!” kind of way.

If you are going to go so far as to have a neon sign above your Northstar range, then by all means, don’t sacrifice the authenticity of your remodel by not including a sign like the one pictured below:

You see, the 1950’s weren’t a better time for everyone.
***Please forgive my snarkiness…these are my own pet peeves. Nothing personal 😉
Leave a comment

Filed under kitchen design

Leave a Reply

