The Littlest Sabjimata

Okay. So, I don’t have much to say, other than a picture speaks multitudes. 

Behold:

Isn’t she a scene stealer? I love her to bits. Here she is making pancakes, which was what the kids had for dinner tonite. She insisted on doing everything, which meant that the children had a lot of misshapen pancakes, but even my son wanted Madhumati’s and not the few that I was able to get a shot at.

And since I don’t think my husband is too much of a “breakfast for dinner” kind of guy, I made a little impromptu desert for him (he is getting other stuff, too). These sweet yeasted pastries are filled with my strawberry jam and ricotta cheese, then glazed with an icing made from confectioner’s sugar, water and homemade orange syrup. My son said after tasting one, “I can’t stand how good these are!”  
Both my kids are getting trained up well in regards to all things kitchen. Venumadhava has realized early on in his eating career that flattery will get him everywhere.
6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “The Littlest Sabjimata

  1. RAISIN BOMBER FILMS

    That picture of Madhumati is one of the cutest you’ve ever posted! 🙂

  2. Vani

    OMG!!!!!!!!! she looks just like you with her bandana and everthing!!!!!!! she is like soososososososoos cuuuuuuuuuuuuuutttttttttttteeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and she looke so professional.

  3. tulasi-priya dasi

    I’m not sure what this word means but feel compelled to say it in reference to the photo of Madhumati:SQUEEEEEE!!

  4. kmala

    this picture of madhumati made me realize I should let me daughter do more in the kitchen. my controlling nature and fear of harm and waste compel me (like satan would…) not to allow it…but really, why not?

  5. kmala

    that should have been “my” daughter, not “me” daughter. I’m not trying to bring out my inner Irish accent.

  6. Devadeva Mirel

    to my favorite leprechaun: to be honest, i was terrified of her at the stove. but my husband makes pancakes with the kids on the weekends and, in true male form, lets them do way more than i ever did. so now they are bold and just ignore me.i stepped out of the kitchen for a minute and when i came back there she was, trying to flip the pancake. like a total kitchen blog dork, my camera was on hand so i shot it. but yeah, she was insisting on pouring the batter in, everything. which was hard for her to do because i make her stand a good 6 inches back from the stove (well, off to the side).to be honest, the amish give their kids knives to cut fruit with at what seemed like a year and a half! and with my kids montessori real life work experience, i can’t keep them from cutting veggies and fruits…another nitemare considering all my downstairs knives are dull.DANGER DANGER!but i think madhavi is old enough. she should be making rice and flipping chapatis. i mean, she’s just a few years off from marriage!!!!!😉

Leave a Reply

