Turkey Sausage


I admit, the name is absolutely awful. But adapted from Bryanna Clark Grogan’s Seitan Roast, I have not been able to come up with a totally veg sounding name for these. Unlike the Spicy Italian Sausage, these links are milder and more…well…veg chickeny.

I need to work on the recipe a bit to get the flavor perfecto but as is they are pretty good, especially sliced and pan fried and then doused with some Bragg’s. And it is way less time consuming to steam them rather than baste and roast for a few hours.
This afternoon I am going to make a soup for my kids, substituting cubed veg-burd sausage (that name isn’t much better but I am in process here) for Nutrela, which my son loves and has been deprived of ever since a certain Australian Chef (who shall remain nameless) opened my eyes to the toxic solvents used in the manufacture of such soy products (basically, we’re talking tvp here).  
Thanks, mate.
8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Turkey Sausage

  1. Radhapriya devi dasi

    Ok, so what’s the deal with tvp (not something I use very often…too far on the meaty side of the fence for me)? I googled it and found way too much info. Could you provide me with a more specific paraphrased version of the horrors of soy? Also, I checked out gluten flour the other day in the store…$7.19 for a lb! Is it really that expensive or is HEB just trying to make a buck?

  2. karunamayi

    DD, how’s ’bout Terkey links? or Happy Turkey Sausage?That’s all I got.RP devi:Yes, gluten is priced everywhere from 10$ a lbs (bob’s red pocket fleecing mill) to .79$ a 100 grams, bulk. They both work wonderfully for me.

  3. Radhapriya devi dasi

    How about just veggie links? Karunamayi…thanks for the info. So if I make a trip out to the co-op or Wholefoods it should be somewhat affordable.

  4. karunamayi

    I’m way over in Canada, so I’m not sure of your supplies there.The only problem with “Veggie Links” is that there is a myriad of flavours and they all need to be distinguished from each other.My family totally loves these….

  5. Radhapriya devi dasi

    No worries, I was kinda thinking out loud when you mentioned bulk and cheapness of where you find that here in Austin. Agreed. I’m not a big fan of using meat remniscent names. Perhaps a better way of doing this would be to name the veggie link flavor after the spices used in it instead of the meat it resembles. ie. Italian veggie links, Mediteranean veggie links, Sage veggie links, Curry veggie links, etc.

  6. Devadeva Mirel

    ok. i admit this post is kind of grody.

  7. Devadeva Mirel

    ok. i admit this post is kind of grody.

  8. karunamayi

    Holy double post, Batgirl!Hey… Is Grody the “word of the day”? Can I use it?I just came home from the library here and let me tell you, I was lookin’ at the screens to see what was what. it’s all good here.

Leave a Reply

