The Great Inaugural Bake-Off

Today is the day! The 44th  President of the United States of America will be sworn in and from this day forward, Utopia will begin!

Like most patriotic Americans not attending the festivities this weekend in DC, I spent my time home, with my family, baking. While baking in honor of the presidential inauguration may be a peculiarly American pastime, it is one that women and men, young and old, dive into with gusto every four years.

There’s a certain ‘O’-ness to the appearance of Harriet’s that I couldn’t refuse on a day like this.

Some bake cakes. Others tartlets. Cookies are always in abundance. And of course, you guessed it, in honor of Obama I baked four batches of Harriet’s Thumbprint Cookies. That’s one batch for each year in office!
Additionally, I made a couple of from scratch (of course!) pumpkin pies from fresh baked pumpkins. Curiously, the sticker on my pumpkins branded them Organic Valley, which I am now aware is more than just milk.

To invoke abundance and prosperity, I purposefully overfilled my pumpkin pie.

I have loved pumpkin pie since way back when Reagan was president, although I have to confess my mother never did much baking–even on election day. Really winning with the crust, white spelt–which is naturally low in gluten–scored big flaky points for this pie. Transforming the pie color from traditional pumpkin pie orange to a noticeably darker shade, sucanat added the perfect warm sweetness to my inaugural treats. Hey, I like my pies dark, like my presidents.

My second pie showed moderation, a quality left leaning Obama has been showing more and more of as the ‘Big Day’ arrives. Eh, I support him anyway. I baked, didn’t I?

Today we will gorge ourselves on cookies and pie, ushering in the new presidency with rich buttery flavor. Here’s to a sweet and prosperous four years!
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Great Inaugural Bake-Off

  1. karunamayi

    You know, I can’t help but wonder if he actually SLEPT last night? I mean, I know *I* couldn’t if I was being sworn in as the first Canadian female president of the US of A.And what a lucky little (sleepless) duck to have you baking such chiq pies way over in Alachua-land for his inaugural pleasure.

  2. Devadeva Mirel

    I’m sure he so didn’t sleep. Although he does seem really mellow. But yeah, I so wouldn’t sleep.I just feel bad for those little girls. It’s so *cold* out!!! But, as my husband points out, the platform must be heated.

Leave a Reply

