Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

Stunned by the break up….

The Client emailed me around Monday, letting me know that he would be by to pick up his stuff sometime later in the week. My entire upstairs kitchen was devoted to cooking for him and although intellectually I know it will be good for me to clear out his stuff and take back the space, I can’t help but think how empty the place will look once his stuff is finally out of there.

I waited all week, never going far from the phone. Since I have no cell phone (he didn’t pay me enough to afford one) that meant I had to stay home, sitting anxiously next to my landline, checking the caller i.d. with bated breath. Alone, cradling the handset in my lap, I spent endless minutes replaying our relationship in my mind. Thanksgiving dinner. The Christmas cookies. The Italian cookbooks. Everything meant nothing. All that I had left was a shelf full of organic spices and The Client’s failure to commit.
So it was no surprise to me when he didn’t call. Like he said before, he wasn’t able to promise me anything.

Bagged and boxed…

I just got done boxing up his herbs, bagging his real salt, his spelt pasta and jar upon red topped jar of organic kalamata olives. I brushed off the pizza stones (plural) and found his re-usable shopping tote from Whole Foods. Gathering it all up, grouping it together, I stood back and assessed my loss. Will I miss filling his 5 gallon water jug with reverse osmosis water for all his cooking? No. Will I miss the unpaid time, mileage and gas spent driving to Fresh Market, The Client’s supermarket of choice? No. 
But I will miss his cheery banter. His ability to find me completely amusing even if I am rolling my eyes at him. His adoration for my calzones, even if they occasionally burst at the seems.
The Client is not all bad. I know he’s been skewered a bit on the blog and My Friends on Facebook have totally barbecued him (hold the sauce). Sure, it does make me feel better having so much emotional support while I’m down, but don’t forget. This is the man I cooked for!

Now my shelves…and my heart…are empty…

Now it is just a matter of time. When will he pick up his stuff? I can’t bring myself to go over to his house and drop off the boxes, just as if I was dropping off a meal one last time. I can’t bring myself to do it because I wouldn’t get paid for my time. And that’s been the problem from the very start.
I should have seen it coming, but I was enamored by the way he spoke of organic oils and sweeteners. His anti-aluminum cookware stance. The remarkable abscence of a microwave oven in his kitchen. Now I realize these things are all superficial. They can’t serve as a solid foundation for a relationship. 
And now, it’s just me and my pots.
10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

  1. karunamayi

    Dear Heart, I think this man needs a wife.In reading this post, it is my unprofessional opinion that you SHOULD just go and drop off his stuff. Be done with it instead of having the boxes there and occupying your time (PRECIOUS time) fretting over when he’s going to actually arrive.i mean come on… all that precious time could be used… I don’t know, writing a cookbook?lovelove, km

  2. Devadeva Mirel

    i will take your advice and drop it off this week. although it does require heavy lifting.and yes…he so needs to get married…even though he would rather just pay for his meals and not be so entangled with the cook!

  3. Tulasi

    Devadeva, STOP! Don’t go over there… This man has taken so much from you already. Let picking up his stuff become his responsibility. If he doesn’t come within two weeks, those pizza stones and organic spices become rightfully yours… (I’m not sure what the law is for abandoned property in the state of Florida, but karmically I think this is fair). For serving a man who knows how to reciprocate…Sri Krishna. love and thoughtsJudge Judy

  4. Devadeva Mirel

    Thanks, Judge Judy. Okay. So your father is a doctor. Is your mother an attorney? LOL!

  5. padmaja

    Hi Devadeva,Dropping the client’s material at his place and penalizing him for his irresponsible behaviour, would make him understand the mental strain and physically pain you have taken to deliver his order for his irresponsible behaviour Padmaja

  6. Devadeva Mirel

    So…you think I should show up crying in my pajamas?

  7. karunamayi

    Devadeva.. STOP!!!It is NOT your responsibility to teach this man anything. He isn’t your son, or your husband for that matter.I think, in the interest of mental health, liberating these things from your ashrama is best. It is a little effort on your part for a better pay off. As we know, everything belongs to Krishna, but He does put things into the care of certain people. This stuff is his and it is better off for your mind to return it and get it gone. Outta the way. Vanished.lovelove, km

  8. Devadeva Mirel

    do you think i should give back the jar of roasted marinated organic red peppers which i sleep with under my pillow….?

  9. Tulasi

    Finding for the plaintiff in the case of sabjimata vs unappreciative client.Verdict: Client relinquishes claim on all kitchen implements and supplies, plus one jar of roasted organic peppers if not collected in good spirits and repentant mood within one week from today*sound of gavel falling*Case dismissed

Leave a Reply

