Family Meal

Today our after school snack was strawberry mango shrikand. I had a lot of yogurt leftover from my birthday cooking (about 2 gallons worth) so I decided to hang it out to dry. Shrikand is made from hanging yogurt in layers of cheesecloth (I use virgin Chinese pre-fold cloth diapers) until the whey drips out. 
I like my shrikand very dry. Usually I hang it for a few days with kitchen towels on top and bags of beans on top of that. Extra weight and absorbency work well for maximum whey extraction. However, I was kind of in a rush so I just hung it overnite, nothing special. The shrikand was very light and fluffy and mixing in the sugar did not require any Sabjimata super human forearm strength.
Too bad. Really I prefer it when I remove my hunk of hung yogurt from the cloth and it is as firm as cream cheese. Good stuff!
Because I use natural sugar, which has a much larger grain than processed white, the sugar takes a little longer to mix in. Not a big deal. Actually, if you don’t fret over it, the sugar will dissolve into the shrikand. No worries!
For dinner and family fun, the kids and I made pizza. Although you can’t really tell from the shot, the crust was very thin and enjoyable. And completely spelt!  Oooh. Healthy.

Madhumati joined me in the kitchen while Venumadhava rolled dough at the table. These were quick pies–yeasted doughs but no sauce. Just a brush of ghee, a sprinkle of kosher salt and hing and some chopped up basil, sliced tomatoes and little slabs of mozzarella.
Still, Madhumati wanted her pizza the opposite of “with everything.”  No problem. We had one of those, too.
4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Family Meal

  1. Syamesvari

    If you ever get tired of having your daughter around, please ship her over to me…I’ll send you my address. She’s uber-cute

  2. Devadeva Mirel

    …but sometimes she’s a snot. still want her?

  3. Syamesvari

    I think her cuteness outweighs her snotiness…so yeah, I’ll take her. But just make sure you include a receipt, just incase I need to do a return:)

  4. Devadeva Mirel

    ok. but there will be a 15% re-stocking fee.

Leave a Reply

