Accidental Meating

A Hebrew school friend who I’ve caught up with on Facebook just posted some horrible news. The fake meat she added to her family’s vegetarian dinner last nite turned out to be real meat.
Oh the horror.
How did it happen, we all wanted to know.  Turns out her mother-in-law (I think it was the mother-in-law) froze a little ground meat in a ziploc for her husband’s carnivorous meals when he was visiting.
The lesson my friend learned from this event was to clearly label those freezer bags.
But for me the incident just further reinforced my “not in my backyard” stand against meat. We don’t even let it in the house. 
Another safeguard my family takes to preserve our children’s purity (and our own long term meat abstinence) is we do not eat in meat restaurants, cook as much as possible from scratch and avoid foods with questionable “natural flavors” as well as foods with mono- and di-glycerides.
Vegetarian eating is very easy. This is my 20th year as a vegetarian. Sure, I do find it a bit annoying that I get to eat out, like, hardly never (we don’t eat onion and garlic either, which is a bit limiting), but I am really really happy knowing what goes into my meals.
Speaking of which, I better get cooking.
11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Accidental Meating

  1. Yogesh

    God bless. I truly wish there were more people like you (and your family). But you know what, massive change can and does happen step by step, person by person, and it is there before we even know it! I am happy and proud that you guys are part of making this world a more humane place!Ys,Ydd

  2. Devadeva Mirel

    Ydd…you are so exuberant…but what are you talking about?Honestly, everyone has a different circumstance (and circumstances are always changing). I firmly believe that people have to do what is most practical for themselves.But don’t underestimate yourself!

  3. Radhapriya devi dasi

    Having worked in the restaurant industry for many years, I think you should be thankful you don’t get to eat out much. Ugh…even the thought of some of the things that go on in the kitchen or walk-in cooler is enough to gross me out. I’m sure the same thing happens in factories.Let’s just say its pretty far from brahmincal standards of cleanliness.Like you say…I like knowing what goes in my food. Corn syrup freaks me out.

  4. Devadeva Mirel

    no way…you worked in restaurants???? i never knew this about you. i just figured you were the average super devotee business and or i.t. guy.just goes to show…don’t assume anything!

  5. Radhapriya devi dasi

    yeah when I first began to practice Krishna consciousness I was a line cook at a diner.Although I had been a vegetarian for a few years at the time. After meeting my Guru Maharaj about 1 week after I started reading BG as it is,we talked about my work. He subtly hinted that I should probably change my field of work. Not really understanding much about the reasoning why I went out searching for another job. This time I became a waitress at a 24-hr diner…moving on up, eh?So then I think Guru Maharaj realized my dull-headedness and after another year passed of waiting tables I moved to Maine…this time more direct instructions about non-meat jobs were given. Thereafter I begin retail/warehouse work…now I’m moving towards the office,tech Graphic Design side of things.So now you’re assumptions are correct.

  6. Radhapriya devi dasi

    well…except the super devotee part of it.

  7. Devadeva Mirel

    that’s funny…thankfully i only had a restaurant job for 3 days. it was an israeli falafel house and the men were *mean.*

  8. tulasi-priya dasi

    umm…unless the ground meat was cooked, I don’t see how your friend could have gotten confused. I mean, even cooked meat has a very distinctive (i.e., nasty) odor. Anyway, I’m not judging. I once bought some french fris at a food court. They came in a paper cup. I was just munching away, not looking, and crunched down on a chicken wing. I was so disgusted by the taste of it, even before I realized what it was.

  9. Devadeva Mirel

    the gound beef was from the freezer and she just sprinkled a little bit in her baked ziti so it was cooked in the oven and not on the stove top.honestly, it didn’t happen to me so i can’t say for sure much more than i already have.wow. that really sucks about the chicken wing.

  10. tulasi-priya dasi

    My dear departed Papi practically didn’t even know there were other kinds of foodstuffs besides beans, rice, meat, and apple sauce. From the time my baby teeth came in, he would cook these multi-course Puerto Rican feasts, just for me. I really was his worshipable deity. Too bad my parents divorced when I was three. Once I left home he subsisted mostly on cold cuts. But when I became a devotee and came home for visits, he would FAST, just so I wouldn’t be offended, becasue he didn’t know what else to eat. I had to force prasadam on him, but once he got a taste, he loved it, especially besan halava and Bengali sweetrice.

  11. Devadeva Mirel

    that;s really sweet t-p….love goes a long way!

Leave a Reply

