Sunday Report

Taste 10, Looks 3
I didn’t set up my table this Sunday (I may never, in fact, do that again despite having pre-paid 3 months rent for a spot) but I did make 46 kebobs to sell through the Krishna Co-op Table. My husband has been suggesting that I get back to the table but I have not been into it because of all the time that goes in and so little cash that comes out. But this week I felt like I really needed the money.
My Client was supposed to go away for Christmas so I was going to have a week off. He ended up with a flight delay and rescheduled but still “gave” me the week off. Plus another one for the week he was actually going out of town. In one sense I don’t mind because, well, I don’t feel like I should honestly express that here. But in another sense, it kind of stinks because no client, no cooking. No cooking, no pay. No pay, well, no nothing.
Tuesday is my birthday and I want to cook a little something for the folks at my temple for breakfast. So, in order to raise funds for the cooking (milk doesn’t grow on trees, you know!), I worked today cooking up the kebobs and dropped them off for the Krishna Co-op Table to sell. They take 20%; the “they” being my temple so I pay the commission with pleasure. 
Halfway through the night I stopped by to see how the kebobs were selling and it did not look good. Maybe a quarter were sold. This was a bummer because I basically cooked from 9 am to 3 pm (which when you have two little kids is an eternity) and I was certain that they were all going to sell. After all, everybody loves them, RIGHT???
Thankfully, this turned out to be 99% true. By the end of  the night only two were left and when I stopped by to check things out M. Mukhya was happily sampling one of the leftovers. She looked effulgent and I would like to take credit for that stunning glow of hers, but I know it had nothing to do with my kebobs. She is one busy lady–cooking constantly for Krishna. A true inspiration. I donated the other kebob to one of the temple brahmacaris and headed back to the temple witht the family for another beautiful night of New Raman Reti kirtan.
Here is a link to a video showing how to make the barbecued gluten kebobs. My husband thought it was a bit too informative and not amusing enough. I just think it would be nice if there was more of my chin in the video. And personally, I find my presentation not very informative…and for me that is a bit amusing.
6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Sunday Report

  1. karunamayi

    nope, that’s seriously perfect. I find the humour aspect a little distracting when my mind is getting down to business. merci, madame!

  2. Devadeva Mirel

    seriously?mercy.

  3. Campakalata Devi dasi's

    Omg, the timing of this video is so absolutely perfect!!!! You are amazing! I’m making them today for someone special. 😛 Gosh, I’m so thrilled! Thanks so much, Devadeva. You are an angel sent by God.

  4. Devadeva Mirel

    i am sure they will turn out great..you have that special touch!

  5. Campakalata Devi dasi's

    Yes, with your blessings.. they were awesome! …and a huge hit with the afore named special person. This certain person wanted even more today. Sadly, today is Ekadasi. But tomorrow is another day! Yay!

  6. Devadeva Mirel

    they are addictive…until you get totally sick of them!!!!

Leave a Reply

