The Day After

Blue skies, white clouds, Krishna and Balarama following the cows over on Govardhana where the cows play….

Christmas was pretty non-monumental for us.  But the day after marked our first trip to St. Augustine.  
I enjoy the beach but not in the traditional sense. I am not an ocean swimmer nor am I into exposing my body to the sun–or anyone else for that matter.  But since we do now live in Florida, I am open to visiting the beach often.  The warmth of the sun, the ocean air and the soothing sound of the waves don’t take much effort to enjoy.
And the kids thoroughly love it.  We never took them to the beach before moving to Florida simply because we didn’t do much stuff like that.  The beach always required some effort (meaning driving) and since there wasn’t going to be any devotees there, I never thought it was worth the effort.
Now I am realizing that childhood is kind of a long process and we need to fill the time with something. St. Augustine was absolutely beautiful. The temperature was in the mid-eighties and the sky was nice and blue. The kids went into the ocean with my husband and I headed up the sand castle building. All in all, a day full of mode of goodness fun.  Can’t wait to go back. 
On the way back home my husband and I agreed that Florida surpasses its reputation.  Eighty five degrees at the beach sure beats twenty degrees with snow on the ground. In this way, I don’t miss Gita Nagari.
Now if only my friends would come visit.  Gopa, I’m keeping the waffle iron warm for you!

Dwarka Palace construction crew.

This was only half way through construction. We were all too sand covered at the end to snap pics. Madhuati decorated the palace with shells and Venumadhava hoisted a flag made from a gull feather.

These guys checked out the ocean and decided 56 degrees was not too cold to swim in.

Me soaking up the rays in my string bikini.
6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “The Day After

  1. Nityananda Chandra Das

    Mata, this picture of your toesies is not appropriate for brahmacaris, 😉

  2. Sita-pati das

    Isn't it supposed to be winter up there?

  3. Devadeva Mirel

    ncd….i did debate the appropriateness of the picture but decided that my lack of chastity is apparent even if my toes are not….so might as well go for it.

    spd…it is winter in the u.s., but florida is pretty good all year round.

  4. Ananga-manjari

    that's it! we are moving to FL! devotees and warm weather…what a great combination!!!

  5. Anonymous

    I may take you up on the waffle offer. Just found out I have an extra week of vacation this year. It's been 10 years here already. Also want to hit up the skatepark.
    We'll let you know.

    Haribol. Gopa

  6. Devadeva Mirel

    GOPA!!! Do come. Talk to RR and Kirti…come when they come…NJ REUNION!!!

Leave a Reply

