Christmas Jam

What a day!

We have no family down here in Alachua and, well, by the looks of it, no friends, either! At least not on Christmas Day. But we are having a great time hanging out with our nuclear atoms. It is downright hot in Alachua and we have been spending the day outdoors. During a pit stop back home while my husband was napping and my proton and electron were watching the animated Ramayana, I headed upstairs to sneak in a little jam making.

Since I am no longer “Jam for Sale” and more just doing it for “The Love of Jam” (<—-no, I don't know why I am capitalizing here), I was feeling rather liberated. Like, abandoning the "Locals Only" mantra, I could actually use those bags of cranberries sitting in my fridge. Hey, every fruit is a local somewhere. 

But speaking of local, I had a box of sour sour oranges that my friend Padmakski (Padi) picked from her folks’ tree a couple of weeks back. Wasn’t that nice of her? These oranges were *local* and *organic,* so that kind of makes up for the cranberries. I combined a quart of juice, zest and triangular peel wedges with a quart of cranberries. To that mixture I added a pinch of cinnamon, ginger and allspice (couldn’t find the cloves). Boil boil sugar and toil and presto-chang-o…Jamalade. Or Marmajam. Whatever… super good, tart and RED!    

Sour Orange + Cranberry
This batch was a real winner and guess what? It’s not for sale! Honestly, this stuff is priceless. June Taylor charges over 10 bucks for 8 ounces of her jam and you know, having made jam myself, I think she should charge double. But let’s face it, 10 bucks + is already a lot to pay for jam. That is why I am semi-closing down the jam shop once the new year hits the calender. But more on that later in the week.

For now I am just enjoying the warmth of my jars and the company of my family.

XO + Jam

Merry Christmas!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Christmas Jam

  1. Gopal Nandini aka ginger

    you know, human made stuff is kind of priceless. If you were to really charge what it’s worth, you’d hardly sell any. It’s the same with our milk. We could never charge what it’s worth. People would just laugh at us. I appreciate what you do. And I miss you and I hope you had a nice holiday.

  2. Devadeva Mirel

    hey you know adi-karta charges 7 or 8 bucks a gallon. yeah…we would surely be laughed at!miss you (and pingala’s milk!!!)

Leave a Reply

