Friday Cook Day

This Friday was not a very exciting cook day. I made asparagus with orange sauce, pictured above.  It is from a recipe in my client’s fancy schmancy Italian cookbook.  The name in Italian is quite lovely and long but I am satisfied with the lowly moniker: asparagus with orange sauce.
There was Italian kichari, the name my husband has given risotto.  It is not a favorite with my husband but My Client digs it.  Additionally I made a huge salad for a party My Client is going to Saturday–mixed greens with pomegranate and candied pecans.  Yes, we simply repeated the salad from Thanksgiving which was a major hit.  He also asked for a cheesecake. This time I sweetened the cake with sucanat, which gave it a beautiful color and paired nicely with almond extract and anise cherry topping.  But what do I know. I cannot even smell anything, what to speak of taste.
Recently I was sent an inquiry from a woman in Tennessee.  She wanted to know if making mini cheesecakes in muffin tins would be a doable idea.  Seemed fine to me, although I personally never tried it. After a google search I noticed that most recipes for this kind of thing omitted the crust. But I went ahead and tried a few with crust.
My muffin pans are stick (not non-stick) so I was skeptical I would be able to get them out (I don’t believe in greasing pans).  I baked them (hint: good idea to reduce baking temp and you absolutely must cut back oven time…20 minutes max) and everything seemed fine. I was in a rush so I only let them cool for about 10 minutes before trying to remove them from the tins. It wasn’t as bad as I thought. I used a serving serving spoon to scoop it out and lost only a teeny bit of crust.
The only drawback to this method was the deflate factor.  Since the surface area of the cheesecake is so small, the post-oven deflation left a noticeable indent.  But I covered this up with a spoonful of strawberry jam. No biggie.  I piled two on top of one another, with some jam in between.  Whipped cream would have been nice but I didn’t have any on hand and, well, no one around here really needs any whipped cream these days.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

