Sabjimata Cooking Class Part II

Today was the last of my two part installment cooking class with a group of local homeschooling kids.  Like the last time, we had a lot of fun.  But this class was, I have to say, even better since two more students joined us for the cooking.

The menu, as selected by the kids, was dahi bada an pizza.  A little east meets west.  So we wouldn’t end up with a plate full of fried in front of us come lunch time, I also added a salad to the mix.  Because I was feeling a little beat, I nixed tamarind chutney as a class prep and just whipped some up before the kids arrived so that our dahi bada wouldn’t feel lonely.

Me and my nose.

Vrindavani, Vani and Nadia working on their pizza dough.  Everyone was skeptical that there wet dough would turn into a silken pillow, but all it took was a little patience and faith.

Here is the recipe for the pizza dough:
2 cups unbleached white flour or half white and half whole wheat
1 tbspn yeast
1 tspn salt
2 tbspn gluten flour
mix dry ingredients
to dry ingredients add:
1/4 c olive oil
1 c cold water heated until warm on the stove
knead into dough. while mixing dough, add more flour (not gluten flour) and water accordingly until you have a wet and sticky dough.  flour fingers while handling dough since doughy hands will only make situation messier.
let dough rise 1-2 hours.

15 year old Rama Das is way cool. He is very interested in cooking, math and magic tricks.  He is the only one who asked me how  I made the chutney.  Points for Rama Das.

Pranaya and Nadia work on their urad dal batter for the badas.

Vrindavani adds some dry roasted cumin to the dahi badas.  I was very sad that, due to my nose, I missed out on this aromatic experience.

The end result: both groups’ beautiful badas!

Vani’s custom pizza.

Nadia slinging her pie.  We made a total of 9 pizzas and ran out of sauce towards the end. Nadia compensated her pie with rounded tablespoons of ricotta. Everyone wanted a slice of her pizza pie action!

Pizza party

And for dessert….Rama Das does some card tricks for us.

I have to admit, I was into it.

These kids are all great. I had the best time. I hope that we get to cook more together in the future.  I just want to thank them for their sweetness and enthusiasm, which got me and my stuffy nose through the afternoon.
XO!
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sabjimata Cooking Class Part II

  1. Gopala

    I can’t wait until Kinnara is old enough to join. Looks like fun!

  2. Devadeva Mirel

    thanks gopala! we will have a blast…i am looking forward to it, too.

Leave a Reply

