Home Canning


This morning I cooked down some pureed persimmon and canned it in my Ball jars.  It felt good to get back to basics, breaking out my water bath canner and assembling the two part lids once I poured the concentrated hot persimmon puree into the jars. I only added a little turbinado, the juice of three limes and some lime zest to the mix.  

Lately I’ve been jam making in smaller batches.  This, along with the fabulous results of my most recent and super moist buckwheat cake made with Sabjimata Strawberry Conserve instead of bananas, inspired me to keep a personal supply of good stuff on hand for my own baking.  It makes more sense then dipping into my inventory which is all labeled and accounted for.  Plus, I like to hoard things.  Home canning scratches that itch.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

