DEVAMBO!!!!

“She was just another drifter who broke the law!”

This morning while out for my run I wondered if there was any benefit to be gained from running in weather which is a bit too cold for me. I should have been at the temple offering a lamp to Damodara, but (the “but” is the problem…I know) I keep saying I am going to run in the evening when it is warmer but the evening is always too busy. I need to run to stay healthy or else my body gives me too much trouble. Justify justify justify.

“Back there I could fly a gunship, I could drive a tank, I was in charge of million dollar equipment, back here I can’t even hold a job PARKING CARS! “

I was thinking about my life. How choosing Krishna consciousness has changed my entire material path. How the only job I am qualified for is whatever cooking gig I make for myself. I tried getting a job in State College, when we lived at Gita Nagari, as a baker in a bread shop. No luck. Even though the only thing on my resume for the past 11 years is kitchen stuff.  I have a college degree but no work experience.  “I’m a people person!”  Really, I’m not.  You just think I am because I have a blog. Or two. Or three.

I need to be in decent shape to keep up in the kitchen. To keep up with my kids. To keep up with my life. I need to run. It actually helps me minimize the time I spend taking care of my body. Thirty minutes a day is not much.

“Sometimes I wake up and I don’t know where I am. And I don’t talk to anybody. Sometimes a day. Sometimes a week. Can’t put it out of my mind. “

When I was running I was meditating on the mercy of Mahaprabhu. If sleeping in Navadvip Dhama is accepted as obeisances, than surely chanting and running has to be accepted as harinama sankirtana. Hare Krishna Hare Krishna Krishna Krishna Hare Hare….

I was thinking about Sita-pati and his Conan the Barbarian challenge. And I was thinking about Alice, Puskar’s mom–an old lady who could surely kick my butt.

But still, i was thinking about how I am in maya–not at the temple. Not offering lamps. When I turned onto 441 and got to the intersection, I saw little Sadhuvasi and his parents. They must have taken a japa walk all the way from the temple to the corner. Pretty far in such chilly weather. “Haribol!” Boy, did I feel dumb.

And that’s when I created my altar ego: DEVAMBO!!!!

“Maya Devi…I’m coming to get YOU!”


“She’s out of the ashram…and she thinks the world owes her something.  Armed with a hand carved Italian wood spoon, 108 rounds of japa and sheer determination to conquer sleep, Devambo is now going  to settle the score. “





Mini-Devambo will carry on the legacy…
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “DEVAMBO!!!!

  1. Gopal Nandini aka ginger

    you are a complete lunatic, and that's what i love about you. . .

  2. Mandakini/Margaret

    Devambo you're my hero!

  3. Satyavati devi dasi

    whoa…

    I'm skeered a you now.

Leave a Reply

