Mark Israel in the New York Times!

It’s quarter to two and I have to leave in 45 minutes to set up at the Sunday feast.  All my cooking is done…on to quality control.  After sampling a few bites of a croissant I decided to get on the exercise bike (boooooring!) and catch up on the New York Times (I did not solicit this shot…my husband thought I looked adorable.  *Blush*).  Croissants will definitely make you fat.  You have been warned.

MARK ISRAEL….I HEART YOU!!!
On to the food section.  An article with the word “fry” in the title caught my attention.  And then…sheer happiness hit me.  Mark Israel, owner of the doughnut franchise/empire Doughnut Plant, was given full props in the article, which can be read here.
I only once had the pleasure of eating Mark’s humungo doughnuts.  That was 2000 when my friend, Saci Dulal, was working at the Doughnut Plant.  Not only were they great, but they were also free!  Saci, a Bengali native who was not used to the traditional Homer Simpson diet of the average American, got nice and plump eating doughnuts round the clock. 
Mark’s doughnuts, which are sold throughout the world at Doughnut Plant franchises, are all pure vegetarian (no eggs or gelatin!!!), totally beautiful, opulent and fattening. The way a doughnut should be.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Mark Israel in the New York Times!

  1. Gopal Nandini aka ginger

    OMG, is that really you on an excercise bike AND the computer?? You should try sleeping and dreaming simultaneously sometime, also very satisfying.

  2. Gopal Nandini aka ginger

    oh, also, I know it’s very productive over there in the mode of passion, but you should visit us over here in ignorance occasionally, after all, one needs a little balance in their life!!! Wish I had a little of what you have, I’d be in good shape!! You go girl!!

  3. Devadeva Mirel

    i love you and i love sleep..believe me!!!and i was in good shape until i started eating croissants everyday.if only i was breast feeding still i wouldn’t need to exercise to burn any calories!!

  4. CaD

    BTW prabhus and matas.. the doughnuts and other confections are all PRASADAM!!! he or his workers offer every batch of doughnuts or muffins or stickybuns to his deities of Lord Jagannath, Baladeva, and Lady Subhadra.

  5. Devadeva Mirel

    laghima told me that to open a franchise, you have to agree to offer the doughnuts to prabhupada!

  6. Ananga-manjari

    I would be in prasadam bliss if your jam were combined with Mark’s donuts!!!

  7. Devadeva Mirel

    hey…that’s a darn tootin good idea!

Leave a Reply

