The Trouble with Recipes

I always know when someone out there on the reader end of this blog thinks something looks good because there are the usual hints for me to post a recipe. Sometimes these are straightforward requests. Sometimes these are hopeful pleas. And sometimes these are hopeful, straightforward pleading requests, tinged with a pinch (or maybe even a full tablespoon) of hostility.

Folks, I am all about sharing. Believe me, just like you, I think it is totally annoying and stingy when someone won’t spread the cooking wealth by sharing a recipe. But if you spend any time in the kitchen, you will know that there really are only 2 kinds of people who have recipes: those who read cookbooks and those who write cookbooks. So if you occupy that middle strata–where you skim a recipe and then wing it–not jotting down a single measurement and thus ensuring the prep will never, I repeat NEVER, turn out the same again–then you will understand that I don’t usually post recipes here because I don’t have recipes.

But for the anonymous reader who put in a request for the croissant recipe, I will gladly share my two points of reference.

This link was the first recipe I tried. It is good on technique and yielded a perfect tasting croissant.

This second link gave me the best results in regards to the flake component and even has a video to go along with it.

I also added a little gluten flour to my dough (about 2 tablespoons for a little over 5 cups of flour). And for the record, you can get a good dough without a stand mixer. In my kitchen, a stand mixer is a stainless steel bowl and my floured hand. Don’t ever let technological demands scare you off from making anything that doesn’t require a CO2 cannister. Bread is definitley “by hand” friendly.

So I hope that satisfies my Dear Anonymous. I’m sorry I cannot be more exact with a recipe. I would, if I had an exact recipe I was cooking from.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “The Trouble with Recipes

  1. Nitai-nam das

    PAMHO, sorry if I upset you at all! I recently looked into making croissants (vegan at that) but was put off by the seemingly forever that’s required for preparation. I was amazed someone actually makes them outside of the corporate bakery business. Thank you for sharing.Your servantNitai-nam das

  2. Devadeva Mirel

    ah-ha! the name of anonymous is revealed! and it is such a beautiful one!!! you didn’t upset me at all and i hope i didn’t upset you. i truly feel bad when people ask for recipes and i don’t exactly have them. but i thought i could share what i do have with the links. it is a lot of prep time but not so bad, really! i think you would be happy you went for it. the results are so amazing. i haven’t had a croissant in sooo many years so it is fun.for vegan croissants, what were you going to use for the butter sub? i was also interested in making vegan ones, but i don’t know how i personally feel about that vegan margarine stuff. anyway, i really appreciate your anonymous comment…reader interaction always is a motivator.

  3. Nitai-nam das

    < HREF="http://shmooedfood.blogspot.com/2006/03/vegan-croissants.html" REL="nofollow">recipes are around<> online for vegan croissants, but as you point out – vegan margarine. Personally I refuse to cook with it…Blessed in some way i’ve never actually had a croissant before, so I don’t know what i’m missing ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Devadeva Mirel

    yeah…that stuff is pretty gross!i don’t know. croissants are fun but they will definitely make you butt big. they aren’t exactly a necessity of life. are you a full time vegan?

  5. Nitai-nam das

    I’m no fanatic ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m a vegan-vegeterian, i’ll take whatever prasadam comes. Locally we steer towards veganism as not to be a cog in the meat industry – it makes sense. Maybe one day we’ll have our own cows and then i’ll have my croissants ๐Ÿ™‚ Do you get milk from Gita-nagari? < HREF="http://philipweeksorg.accounts.combell.net/vrij.cfm?Id=22" REL="nofollow">Here’s the facts on margarine<>, written from a critical angle. “not even mould will grow on it”. hmm!

  6. Devadeva Mirel

    thanks for the facts and just the facts, sir.we used to get milk from gita nagari and it was so great. also, jaya gopal and damayanti have a wonderful milker and sometimes we would purchase her milk. but now we are in alachua. adi-karta prabhu has milk but we haven’t gotten any yet. here the community is much bigger and spread out so i havent gotten my stuff together yet to get milk from them.you sound like a thoughtful eater. all glories!

Leave a Reply

