Love for Sale

I have been up all nite preparing foods to sell at the Hare Krishna Sunday program tomorrow. Actually, I guess now it is today.  While I don’t think anyone really calls it the “Sunday Love Feast” anymore, that was the the way this tradition was introduced in the US in the late sixties and early seventies.  But continuing in the tradition of the Hare Krishnas which came before me, I tried my darnedest to prepare these treats with a loving consciousness.

To set the mood in the kitchen, I have been listening to my friend Akincana Krishna Dasa’s kirtan as well as the melodious kirtan of fellow blogger Kurma Prabhu.  Although it has been a long and solitary night, I feel like I have had good company.
Soon I will get some sleep, go for a run and then get back in the kitchen to make some gluten kebobs.  But for now, let’s look at what I’ve been up to.

I made a few different types of granolas, including Maple Hazlenut.

The dough.

Divided.

Cut into unequal parts (must work harder on that next time).

<a onblur="try {parent.deselectBloggerImag

Voila!  Croissants.  I didn’t have white flour, only spelt.  So, these are spelt croissants.  Even though I “lylas” spelt flour, I have to admit that croissants deserve white.  Not bleached, but white nonetheless.  It is an indulgence.  I wasn’t able to get the flaky outer crust I so desired, despite putting them back in the fridge after the final rising (okay, I didn’t put them in for that long, but still).  Maybe I should use more butter, but honestly I cannot imagine how this dough could handle anymore. 

For the wee-ones, Sabjimata Mild Italian Sausage.

And let’s not forget dear, sweet Harriet!  Harriet’s thumbprint cookies, made with organic spelt flour (it works great for cookies), natural sugar and Sabjimata Blueberry Conserve and Anise Cherry Conserve.  Mmmm. Mmmm. Mmmm.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Love for Sale

  1. Lavanga

    ddd–it’s good that we live far away from each other because i would be both fat and poor!

  2. Devadeva Mirel

    that is the nicest thing you could say to me 😉

Leave a Reply

