Rock Out or Wash Out?

Tomorrow is a big festival day in Alachua.  I am registered to do a table at the Janmastami Festival, yet have no clue how it is going to pan out with this Tropical Storm Fay dumping dumping dumping rain on us.  Nevertheless, I am moving forward, preparing as if blue skies and white clouds were in the forecast.

In addition to my lovely jams, syrups, pickle and aprons, I will be selling bagged granola and my new favorite thing to make (and eat!) Sabjimata Italian Sausage (spicy and mild).

I am making three varieties of granola: Pecan Pepita Granola sweetened with agave nectar, Almond Coconut Spice Granola, sweetened with agave nectar and Big Nut Granola sweetened with sucanat (it has cashews, almonds and walnuts, hence the name).  They are all made with organic oats, oat bran, raisins, sesame seed, sweetener, coconut oil and flaxseed.  Also, they are wheat free.  Pictured below is the Pecan Pepita Granola.

The Italian Sausage is vegan, onion and garlic free and ready to slice and eat. I have to weigh and price them, but this sausage below is about a half pounder. Kalamata olives and sun dried tomatoes are stuffed inside, making this sausage a definite gourmet alternative to the crap sold in the store.

In addition to this cooking, last nite I catered an antipasto plate (to be accompanied by store bought baguettes).  On the platter were barbecued kebobs, marinated paneer and roasted peppers as well as Sabjimata Spicy Italian Sausage. Yum.

Truth be told, I have been eating a lot of this stuff.  I am waiting for myself to actually turn into a sausage, but thankfully that has not happened so far.  Actually, I’m down a few ounces on the scale.
Not that I keep track of that sort of thing.

Oh…and to keep me burning off the calories, I will also be busy making kebobs and carob brownies for the festival people to sell. And for those of you who think carob is a poor replacement for chocolate, I think you need to properly develop an appreciation for carob in its own right. I don’t think of carob as a chocolate replacer (just like I don’t think of gluten as a meat sub). Good quality carob is delicious and to be honest, this carob brownie recipe I use falls flat on it’s face when made with chocolate.

Okay, I must go check the forecast now. Dear Fay, please go away!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Rock Out or Wash Out?

  1. Vinod

    That is just cruel posting such pictures on Janmastami 😉 heheheWould you like to share the recipe for the sausage Mataji?

  2. Devadeva Mirel

    hahaha! normally i would share a recipe. but this time i hope to get filthy rich from my sausage. hahahahaha!but if you snoop around online, i am sure you will get the info you are after. 🙂

  3. Deb Schiff

    I so enjoy carob everything! Good luck. I’m sure you’ll do very well.

Leave a Reply

