Uh…Didn’t I Used to Make Jam?

I did, didn’t I?

These days there isn’t a lot of jam making to write about. I am still filling online orders and this Sunday will be setting up at a big festival in Alachua. But as far as my time in the jam kitchen, I’m clocking zeros.

But that doesn’t mean Sabjimata is not cooking. No. Sabjimata is cooking. Let me tell you about this cooking Sabjimata.

Oh god! Did I just refer to myself in third person? By golly, I did. Isn’t this a sign of schizophrenia? Thankfully, there is medication for that. But conflating myself with my brand name seems a little more pathological. Must consult DSM-IV about that one. I will surely add that to my to-do list– which is quickly becoming a to-do notebook.

Cooking, cooking. Try to stay on topic.

So after my last posting I was happily surprised with an email in my inbox from a man in the Alachua area interested in hiring me to prepare (not cook) meals for him. He is a raw foodist looking for a little food preparation relief. Although I was friends with a raw foodie back in our Tucson days, sampling rawvioli and French silk pie (raw carob powder blended with avocado), my raw food experience is very limited.

Thankfully, there is the internet.

Truth be told, I have been reading up about raw food eating over the years, since it obviously is very pure and nourishing. I say obviously because everyone who eats this way happens to look at least 20 years younger than their actual physical age. I remember a few years back talking to Raghunatha (aka The Raw Yogi aka Ray from Shelter/Youth of Today) at a festival in Washington Square Park. He was with his wife and another woman, who I thought was his mother. Yikes! Turns out the lovely lady was his sister. It wasn’t that she looked old–she looked very good in an edgy, cosmopolitan kind of way. Just Raghunatha looks so damn young!

Myself being vata highest, I quickly decided raw food wasn’t for me. Not that I have anything against looking 20 years younger. If I could look 13 again, I would…wait a minute….no I wouldn’t. But if anyone knows a good eye cream, please let me know.

Talk about vata highest. I am kind of all over the place here.

I now have a short-term cooking gig for the raw foodie and I am pretty excited about it. He seems like a pretty chill guy and is full of suggestions and feedback. I thought I wouldn’t be able to do it because I don’t have a dehydrator (I really was looking forward to doing all kinds of uncooked breads and Italian dishes) but ordered a spiralizer online. This is an inexpensive plastic grater/chopper which turns veggies into thin, noodle-like strings, allowing raw zucchini to mimic cooked spaghetti squash.

I found a lot of interesting recipes at goneraw.com and will work on a shopping list tonite. Tomorrow I will do the shopping and hopefully get started on some stuff tomorrow nite. The ingredients for my other cooking gig should arrive tomorrow nite and Thursday will be my first official cook day for that. Friday I am also slated to work on 5-10 gallons of granola and a few dozen canneli bean burgers for that same client.

In the meantime I am trying to have some things on hand for my family to eat. Which brings me to this picture:

Tahini butter cookies are what my family will be served for breakfast as well as in between meal snack. I tripled the recipe, but here it is, in singular.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Combine:

1/2 c softened butter
1/2 c tahini
1 c sucanat
1/2 tspn baking soda
1/2 tspn baking powder
1 tablespoon ground flax seed mixed with 3 tablespoons water. Let sit and get gloppy before adding.
1 1/4 c whole wheat flour or 1 1/2 cup spelt flour

Roll into balls, (press into turbinado sugar–optional) flatten, press with potato masher. Bake 7 to 9 minutes.

There it is. An actual recipe. See, I like to share!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Uh…Didn’t I Used to Make Jam?

  1. DailySAHM

    another yummy looking recipe… thanks!

Leave a Reply

