Eggless French Toast Topped with Saffron Cardamom Peach Sauce


I always wanted to try an eggless French toast recipe, since French toast was a Saturday morning staple in my house growing up. Every Saturday my mom would serve me breakfast in bed consisting of French toast with Aunt Jemima fake maple syrup and oj or Coca-cola. Man, that was the life!

So of course I wanted to try to replicate some of the breakfast bliss for my own kids, minus the eggs, fake syrup, liquid uppers and the bed. Hmmm….wait a minute….

This morning I tried an eggless French toast recipe, but without the recipe. All I knew was to dip the bread in nutritional yeast. Got to love those B-vitamins. Next time I will look a little more carefully into finding a recipe. But no worries. My kids really seemed to dig their French toast, batter dipped in yogurt, nutritional yeast and some sucanat. The fact that it was smothered in Saffron Cardamom Peach Sauce probably helped a bit.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Eggless French Toast Topped with Saffron Cardamom Peach Sauce

  1. karunadd

    The saffron cardamom jam is so yummy. I put some to liven up a dry kitchri my husband made the other day. Today I had it on bread with almond butter. French toast- thanks for the great idea- I used to love french toast and hope I can make some Sunday morning using the ingredients you mentioned- except could one use soy milk instead of yogurt?Kids have messages for you:Bye from VrndavanI love you from Lakshmi

  2. Devadeva Mirel

    awww…i am so happy to get a message from you…and the kids! really, i was just so touched that they remembered/recognized me when i saw them in nc.i really don’t know if my recipe was bonafide. i am sure the post punk kitchen website has a good vegan recipe on there.i’m glad you like the stuff…jam and kichari…now there is a combination i never thought of but what the heck!we just came from the open house at the nrrs. gopi from sandy ridge was there. you would love love love it.!!! come visit!

  3. Ginger

    ohhhh! All my friends are together. . . in Alachua!! You got Coke for breakfast!?! In bed!?!?!? Man, why did you ever leave!!??

  4. Eric

    Haribol! Here’s the recipe that I use…The batter:2 Cups soy, almond, or oat milk (not rice milk, it’s too thin)1 tablespoon nutritional yeast3 tablespoons floura bit of vanilla and cinnamon if you like (and you DO like!)Mix itPut bread in it,and fry the bread.Offer it to Krishna!Vegan French toast for you!

  5. Devadeva Mirel

    ginger/gopal…i just saw gopi last nite…she looks beautiful…when are you moving here 😉eric..you da man! thanks for the recipe. i had a feeling i needed a little flour but i am a lazy cook these days since as of now we are still not totally unpacked!!ekavali just suggested to me using just ground flax, cinnamon and milk….sounds like power french toast to me!!!i will keep you all updated on any french toast improvements over the next week or so. we have a loaf of store bought bread (a delicacy in our house) so that makes it all the more better. i mean gooder.

  6. Nityananda Chandra Das

    hey that is not fair, fasting is till noon and it is only 10:40 (stomach grumbling)

  7. Devadeva Mirel

    mmmm…we just broke fast with khandvi, brown basmati butter rice, spinach/tomato/tofu sabji and sucanat burfi…but we made sure to leave room for the feast tonite at the temple!

Leave a Reply

