Sabjimata Bengali Cauliflower Pickle


Yum yum! More pickle has been added to the Sabjimata Pickle Page.

I added the prefix “Bengali” to the pickle title, just in case someone unfamiliar with my product line stumbles across my site in search of some pickled vegetables. The difference with my stuff and what normally is labeled as pickled vegetables around these parts is, well, a lot.

For starters, I don’t use any vinegar. The flavor of mustard oil is strong in my pickles, although not as strong in the cauliflower pickle as in some of the others. Mustard oil is very popular in Bengal, which is why I am using “Bengali” as the signifying prefix. I know there is a whole controversy in the food world that labels should reflect places of origin, but I am only trying to more fairly represent what is inside my pickle jars.

Also, the pickles are spicy. They are used as a digestive condiment to add heat to a meal and thus increase the fire of digestion. They are not snacking food per se, although it is not uncommon for people to eat this kind of pickle straight from the jar.

These are Indian pickles with Indian spices. They go best with Indian meals, but are not out of place eaten alongside rice or with bread.

So, that’s the 411 on my cauliflower pickle. I am trying to get more cauliflower to make some more, so as of now, there is not much of this stuff in stock.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sabjimata Bengali Cauliflower Pickle

  1. Malla-Praharana Das Adhikari GPS

    Hariboloo thanks a lot for the recipe for the buckwheat pizza, we get buckwheat but not buckwheat flour, we will try to get it from Ukraine (my wife’s motherland), can we have the recipe of this cauliflower pickle ( its my favorite vegetable) hehehehehehehehe mil gracias una vez mas!!!

  2. Devadeva Mirel

    shoot me an email at sabjimata@gmail.com and i will help you out….

Leave a Reply

