Totally Unnatural


Here are my son’ s sometime favorites: sprinkle cookies. I used to get these (but really huge) from the Royal Bakery on Washington Road in my hometown of Sayreville, NJ (boyhood home of Jon Bon Jovi…and Dule Hill).

These cookies are totally unnatural on the outside, yet full of Harriet’s goodness on the inside (I just recycled the recipe from Harriet’s Thumbprint cookies…which btw…will not be as soft and crumbly if you bake for 30 as opposed to 20 minutes).

I remember when we lived in North Carolina, I would sometimes make cake and add sprinkles on top of frosting. Some of the moms were horrified. And while the candy coating on M & M’s makes me shiver with cancerous fear, little round non-pareils (which these really are) and their sprinkly cousin-brothers don’t freak me out.

After all, you only live once 😉

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Totally Unnatural

  1. Gopal Nandini aka ginger

    You know you can get those little sprinkles at the health food store? They’re not quite as brightly colored, more pastel, but they fool the kids without causing the “mother’s cancer panic.”

  2. karunamayi

    *coughcough* RECIPEPLEASE *coughcough*

  3. Devadeva Mirel

    oops. sorry. for these i just used harriet’s cookie dough! any shortbread (cookie with ground nuts/no leavening) will do. 😉

  4. Mandakini/Margaret

    Oh, I remember the cake with the sprinkles. Yummy! I heart sprinkles.

Leave a Reply

