Buckwheat Muffins


Here is a recipe for buckwheat muffins. Since I had no bananas in the house, I used a jar of Sabjimata Strawberry Conserve. Also, I had to make the recipe in a cake pan because I packed all my muffin tins weeks ago. The recipe is very flexible and doesn’t seem to mind substitutions. Not enough yogurt? Just use milk or even water. Out of butter? Go for the oil. Fruit butters and apple sauce make a great substitution for the bananas. And it never hurts to fortify your muffins by adding a touch of molasses.

So here’s the basic recipe. Go crazy with it.

2 cups buckwheat flour
1 stick butter (1/2 cup)
2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 mashed bananas
1 1/2 cups yogurt or buttermilk
cinnamon

Mix it all up (food processor works well) and put in muffin tins. You could sprinkle turbinado sugar on top of the muffins before putting in the oven, if you so desire. I don’t do this because then my kids only eat the muffin tops and I am stuck with a pile of topless muffins.

Bake for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. Voila! Gluten free, grain free muffins. Yum yum!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Buckwheat Muffins

  1. Lila

    OOOH! Thanks for the recipe! I’ll have to make this on the next Ekadasi. Buckwheat pancakes with molasses are also excellent and are French Canadian treat. 🙂 Well, at least they were with my Mémé.xo,LMdd

  2. logical thinker

    Wonderful muffins. So simple and fun to experiment with. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

