Madhumati’s 3rd Birthday!

Today is really my little girl’s birthday.  Since we have celebrated her birthday quite a number of times already, we decided to keep it simple and just stick to cake with the four of us. I made my kids’ favorite, a carob brownie cake. I must have packed the birthday candles so we lit incense instead. She seemed pretty happy with the cake and the kids made a thorough mess of things. Honestly, we have been so busy that if it wasn’t for my mom reminding me, I probably would have forgotten it was her actual birthday. My son didn’t, however, and managed to put us on the spot by asking us where Madhumati’s gifts were. Ummm…she’ll get them when we move to Alachua. Let’s see who will forget first, the kids or me and my husband.

Carob Brownie Cake

Mix up ingredients. Bake 350 for 20 min or until done

1 ½ c sugar
¼ c butter or oil
½ c good carob powder
2 tbspn buttermilk or yogurt
1 t vanilla extract
1 ½ c flour
1 t bake pwdr
¼ t bake soda
1 c milk or water
1 c chopped walnuts (optional)

Frosting (makes more than you need for one cake)
3 c pwdr sugar
½ c carob pwdr
¼ c butter
¼ c cream cheese

Our friend, Advaita, also stopped by today. He was wearing his Sabjimata Human Made shirt. Smart man. He is leaving today to join the Warped Tour, where he promises to wear the shirt every day (he’ll wash it at night). I don’t think I could find a bigger billboard!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Madhumati’s 3rd Birthday!

  1. Nityananda Chandra Das

    Jaya Warp tour, I hope to do some books with Indranuja Prabhu when the tour comes through Dallas.ps. would you like to contribute to Krishna.com’s food section. I serve on Krishna.com and I am sure they would be happy to have you join the team.

  2. Devadeva Mirel

    Jaya Indranuja Prabhu! We have not seen him in a while. He and my husband are godbrothers. Please offer my respects to Gita Govinda Mataji. She is great!I don’t know in what way I would be able to contribute to Krishna.com. But if there is anything from my blog that could be useful, feel free to use it. Thanks, though, for the opportunity.Have fun on books!

  3. Lila

    Happy Birthday Madhumati!!!

Leave a Reply

