And the Winner Is….

The winner of “‘Eat Me.’ Win This. The Contest.” is Madhava Ghosh of West Virginia. Madhava wowed me with his vision of being a bitter melon plant. Madhava wins a Sabjimata Human Made T-shirt.

First Runner-Up is Danny Frank, who wins nothing but who’s “Strawberry” entry was a fruity delight worth sharing. If Madhava cannot fulfill his duties as t-shirt contest winner, than Danny will have to fill his shoes. Or shirt.
Below are the entries. Enjoy!

Winning Entry

Not gingerly, I clamber up
the trellis reaching to the sky
with my tendriled vines

I erupt with flowers
as I embrace the summer’s heat
and sweetly scent the morning

Hidden in my foliage I make
my spiny fruit which unpicked
turns yellow and drops red seeds

Sliced, sautéed, and ingested
my fruit cleanses the blood
and lowers blood sugars

A palate cleanser
my fans are legion but I remain
a bitter and acquired taste

Momordica charantia
I am also known as corella,
pare, caresse, or ampalaya

But to you, my friend, I remain
your ever well wisher
bitter melon

Madhava Ghosh




First Runner-up

Danny Frank
5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “And the Winner Is….

  1. Mandakini/Margaret

    Wow! That bittermelon poem is very moving. Very cool!

  2. Devadeva Mirel

    I am very appreciative of the fact that his poem didn’t rhyme. If you ask me, that is worth a t-shirt and a half!!!

  3. kmala

    I’m so disappointed in myself that I didn’t even enter. I had a nice idea for rolling myself in chocolate to express my love, but I thought it would be inappropriate. will this occur annually?

  4. Devadeva Mirel

    kmala, you gotta be in it to win it!!! nothing is inappropriate for a contest titled “eat me.” i am thinking about the annual thing…but don’t worry, there will be other ridiculous contests between now and next year.

  5. kmala

    I am *so* looking forward to it. and I promise to do something insanely embarrassing.

Leave a Reply

