As Plain as the Nose On My Face

Yes it’s true. I am a Hare Krishna and I make jam. Some people think I should hide the fact that I am a devotee of Lord Krishna because they feel it is too weird for business. Or just irrelevant to the whole jam thing.

My jam slogan is “Human Made.” I am that human. And, to quote the t-shirt from La Cage aux Folles that the gay guy working in my dad’s office when I was younger used to wear, “I am what I am.” There you have it.

My spiritual practice as a Hare Krishna involves focusing on cleanliness, simplicity, compassion and truthfulness. I treat my body as a temple, avoiding stimulants such as caffeine and tobacco. I don’t eat any meat, do drugs and just generally try to avoid degrading myself in a world where morals are so easily compromised. Mabye being a Hare Krishna really is weird after all.

I strongly believe that the consciousness of the cook is transferred into the food. This is not a uniquely Hare Krishna belief. Anyone who’s seen Like Water for Chocolate will catch my drift. So, which would you rather have–some factory worker who hates his job cooking your food…or me? The happy Hare Krishna lady in the kitchen?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “As Plain as the Nose On My Face

  1. Anonymous

    “My spiritual practice as a Hare Krishna involves focusing on cleanliness, simplicity, austerity and truthfulness. I treat my body as a temple, avoiding stimulants such as caffeine and tobacco. I don’t eat any meat, do drugs and just generally try to avoid degrading myself in a world where morals are so easily compromised. Mabye being a Hare Krishna really is weird after all.”

    Perfectly said! I’m going to print that on a t-shirt!

  2. Leo Levy

    Right on!

  3. Devadeva Mirel

    awww…team spirit!

Leave a Reply

