Gratitude to the Little Vaisnavas


We purchased the Little Vaisnavas Vol. 2 CD. The kids totally love it. Today while listening to the cd with the kids I read the quote on the inside of the cover:

SB 10.9 1-2
Sri Sukadeva Gosvami continued: One day when mother Yasoda saw that all the maidservants were engaged in other household affairs, she personally began to churn the yogurt. While churning, she remembered the childish activities of Krsna, and in her own way she composed songs and enjoyed singing to herself about all those activities.

PURPORT
While churning the butter, mother Yasoda was singing about the childhood activities of Krsna. It was formerly a custom that if one wanted to remember something constantly, he would transform it into poetry or have this done by a professional poet. It appears that mother Yasoda did not want to forget Krsna’s activities at any time. Therefore she poeticized all of Krsna’s childhood activities, such as the killing of Putana, Aghasura, Shakatasura and Trnavarta, and while churning the butter, she sang about these activities in poetical form. This should be the practice of persons eager to remain Krsna conscious twenty-four hours a day. This incident shows how Krsna conscious mother Yasoda was. To stay in Krsna consciousness, we should follow such persons.

I am so grateful to Mother Mrgaksi and all her grown up devotee kids, as well as Mother Yamini, for their wonderfully magical recordings which did not earn them a penny but was simply an offering to Srila Prabhupada’s mission.

How empty my children’s childhood would be without this devotional music.

My husband and I also feel our own lives have become enriched by these songs. Mother Yamini’s Krsna Book cd’s are our personal favorites. We wished we had been introduced to them when we were new to Krishna Consciousness.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Gratitude to the Little Vaisnavas

  1. Mandakini/Margaret

    Haribol~ Where'd you get the Little Vaisnavas Vol 2 on CD? I've been waiting years for it to come out ;0)
    We still listen to our old cassette tape of it-the sound quality is very rough.

    Vol 2 is definitely my favorite of the two.

    I think I pulled a neck muscle trying to get an upright view of the beautiful little Vaishnavi.

  2. Devadeva Mirel

    We bought it at NY Ratha from Mother Mrgaksi herself. Too bad your husband didn't pick one up…but she was set up at the playground and without any kids with him, there was no reason for him to be over there.

    I am sure if you get in touch with Krsnaa or Rasikananda (Radha Madhava) or Jvala (sp?) they could sell you one.

    I don't want to bootleg it because they never made any money off the things and I think it would be nice if Mother Mrgaksi got a little $reciprocation$ for the seva…besides…my computer is no good for burning cd's.

    It has been digitally remastered.

    My husband doesn't like it when the monkeys say, "HEE HEE HEE."

  3. Mandakini/Margaret

    I always thought the monkeys said "ee, ee, ee". I love that song! I have a picture in my room of Krishna & Balaram stealing butter and I sing that song to Narada when we look at the picture ;0)

    Thanks for the info. I definitely didn't want a bootlegged copy! Just wanted to know how I could buy my own.

  4. Mandakini/Margaret

    google is amazing. i found http://www.littlevaisnava.com

    YAY!

  5. Devadeva Mirel

    thanks for the monkey correction.

    i think that when i wrote my reply to you, i meant for the 'h' to be read as a silent 'h.'

Leave a Reply

